Rest for the Weary Soul

Today I have to say I am weary!  I feel like life has beaten me this week and that I have so far to go in the battle to be who God wants me to be.  My character has been questioned, my faith has been tested, and my confidence is gone and all I can do is turn my eyes to heaven and hold on to this verse.

From Matthew 11(NLT)

28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”

Today this verse was placed as a song in my heart.  I know I have so far to go in being transformed & I know more than ever that I have no idea how to truly follow Christ and the sacrifice that following Him will require.  Romans 7:21-25 says it so much better than I can

21 I have discovered this principle of life—that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. 22 I love God’s law with all my heart. 23 But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. 24 Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? 25 Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin.

I know that my only rest can come from HIM & my only comfort is knowing that I don’t have to walk this road alone!

As a side note Pastor Gary & Gord from my church have set up an awesome interactive blog and I think all of you need to check it out.  This is a quote from his last post “Prayer is all about transformation not about things.  Prayer is about character not about desires. Prayer is about being not doing.”

Thanks so much for stopping by!

One thought on “Rest for the Weary Soul

Leave a Reply

