When the H.S. calls…

Most people who know me know that I am NOT a morning person…it’s difficult enough for me to get up at 8 a.m.  but lately I am waking up at 5 a.m.   It’s not the nice gradual waking up either its the waking up very suddenly. It’s like clock work almost exactly at 5 a.m. every single day and I have to admit that it’s very frustrating for me.  I know that the Holy Spirit is waking me because I hear a voice that calls me.  I know what you are thinking but it’s really true…the Holy Spirit has been calling me by name and asking me to spend time…Now I wish I could say I am like Samuel when the Lord called him from his sleep, he jumped out of bed and ran to Eli thinking that Eli had called him, but sadly I am not. I keep begging for just a few more minutes of sleep and I constantly struggle to get up even when I know it’s the Holy Spirit calling me.

I’m sure you have heard the story but lets read it again;

1Samuel 3:2 One night Eli, whose eyes were becoming so weak that he could barely see, was lying down in his usual place. 3 The lamp of God had not yet gone out, and Samuel was lying down in the temple [a] of the LORD, where the ark of God was. 4 Then the LORD called Samuel. Samuel answered, “Here I am.” 5 And he ran to Eli and said, “Here I am; you called me.”  But Eli said, “I did not call; go back and lie down.” So he went and lay down. 6 Again the LORD called, “Samuel!” And Samuel got up and went to Eli and said, “Here I am; you called me.”  “My son,” Eli said, “I did not call; go back and lie down.” 7 Now Samuel did not yet know the LORD : The word of the LORD had not yet been revealed to him. 8 The LORD called Samuel a third time, and Samuel got up and went to Eli and said, “Here I am; you called me.”  Then Eli realized that the LORD was calling the boy. 9 So Eli told Samuel, “Go and lie down, and if he calls you, say, ‘Speak, LORD, for your servant is listening.’ So Samuel went and lay down in his place. 10 The LORD came and stood there, calling as at the other times, “Samuel! Samuel!”  Then Samuel said, “Speak, for your servant is listening.”

Samuel was very young in this story, probably an adolescent.  What’s truly amazing to me is the willingness to get up and he didn’t just walk, he ran to Eli.  Worship involves sacrifice, it is not comfortable, it will cost you something, true worship is not convenient.  So often I find that I am too complacent, willing to settle for second best when the Holy Spirit wants me to have it all.  Where is the eagerness to know the one who died for me?  Where did my passion go?

I have to admit that I am slow to get up at 5 a.m but I am getting more and more determined to be like Samuel and say “Speak, for your servant is listening” when the call comes at 5 a.m.

What about you?  What has the Holy Spirit been doing in your life?

I Pray you have a blessed Sunday!  Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “When the H.S. calls…

  1. I am glad i read this today… very thought provoking , and i just “happened” to find my “what happens when women pray” book…. coincidence? i think not! The last time i read that book (years ago!) I started to be woken up by the holy spirit too…. confusing and humbling all at once.

    thank you!

  2. I was thinking about this today; The Holy Spirit had been convicting me because of some self doubts that I had and reminded me so much of Hebrews 11, “By Faith” drum roll and it was an eye opener..

Leave a Reply

