Surrender – The Ultimate Worship Experience!

Jer 38:20 “They will not hand you over,” Jeremiah replied. “Obey the LORD by doing what I tell you. Then it will go well with you, and your life will be spared. 21 But if you refuse to surrender, this is what the LORD has revealed to me: 22 All the women left in the palace of the king of Judah will be brought out to the officials of the king of Babylon. Those women will say to you: ” ‘They misled you and overcame you—those trusted friends of yours. Your feet are sunk in the mud; your friends have deserted you.’

This last week I was reading Jeremiah and something I noticed as an ongoing theme throughout these chapters is how the Israelites were so caught up in themselves they didn’t even listen to the prophets who spoke of impending doom. They had ample warning in trying to get things straight in their lives and they knew they were living in sin but still refused to surrender everything to the one true God. What seems funny to me is that they KNEW GOD! They experienced miracles in the desert, the parting of the red sea, the water coming from a rock, but still they chose to worship idols. How often do we do that? Yes we “believe” in God, we may even worship Him from time to time but He cannot compete with our TV’s, Computers,or even our food. How often are we more committed to watching our favorite TV shows, or going out with friends rather than spending time with Jesus, the one who can heal us from everything? We don’t want to let go of control, right? We figure that we can “just get by” on our own and so we learn to just stuff our hurts & emotions and then anger & bitterness take over.

The older I get the more I am convinced that we do not need to “just get by”, Jesus wants not only to take the burden of our sins but He wants to heal our emotions & hearts as well so that we can live joyful, fulfilled lives. The key to the healing though is SURRENDER! To let go of our reasons, excuses or need to control every situation and let HIM do a miracle in us! I know for me I really have been examining my heart this week and in my journey to release control, slowly, there are emotions and hurts that are being dealt with and HEALED. It’s not pretty, in fact there is stuff being dealt with that I would rather no one know about me but the only way to be free of it is to expose it to the light of Jesus.

Do you need rest, healing and forgiveness? Listen to the words of Jesus…

Matt 11:28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

May God richly bless you as you learn to surrender more to Him this week! That is the ultimate worship in God’s eyes.

Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Surrender – The Ultimate Worship Experience!

  1. Amen!
    It’s hard to remember to give it to God isn’t it? I’m so glad we have that option!

Leave a Reply

