Live Well Wednesday!

diet.jpg

Last week at this time I made a decision! It’s time to stop dancing around the issue! Exercise is the next challenge I need to overcome, I’ve known it for some time but change is not something that I do well. I hate to say it but being lazy has become an art form for me, I do lazy really well. Exercise is something I have hated all my life and to be able to do it I need to find a way to like it and maybe even love it. So last week began my journey with exercise and my prayers to God were that He will help me to love it so that it becomes a part of my lifestyle. I know myself well enough to know too that I cannot change more than 1 thing at a time or else I just give up altogether, so I decided to just focus on exercise for the next 6 weeks and maybe even more depending how well I do in developing the habit of exercise without excuses. I decided that I was going to commit to 5 days a week of 30 minutes a day, no excuse would be good enough I decided. Monday to Friday I will exercise! So far I am doing good with that commitment even though I go through at least 10 excuses until I finally am firm with myself and say I am going to do this! I am hoping & praying that by the 6th week I will not struggle with the excuses but will feel so good that I look forward to that part of my routine( this is my prayer). I joined the Curves gym close to where I live and so far I have not noticed any adverse effect with my arthritis, in fact I think I am feeling better than I have in a long time! They weigh and measure me once a month so that gives me a little accountability but I can use their scale to weigh myself every week which will help me to stay motivated! So are you ready for my good news? I am down 6 pounds from last week! Now keep in mind I did weigh myself in the evening last week and I weighed myself this morning so it’s probably only 4 pounds because of the difference between morning and evening weights but I am still very happy with my first week’s results. I’m doing the happy dance over here!

I feel like this is my theme verse!

Psalm 40:2

He lifted me out of the pit of despair,
out of the mud and the mire.
He set my feet on solid ground
and steadied me as I walked along.

To read about more Live Well participants stories or if you would like to join in please visit Darlene & the home of Live Well Wednesday.

10 thoughts on “Live Well Wednesday!

  1. I am SO doing the happy dance with you!! That’s awesome! Congratulations on making a decision to be firm with yourself, sticking to it, and having great results! I’m glad to hear, too, that your arthritis can’t be used as an excuse and that you’re noticing how good the exercise is making you feel. I think you’re well on the way to making it a habit by discovering you enjoy it!!

  2. Totally Awesome results! Curves is a great way to go! Not only do you get exercise but you get to meet alot of women too! Keep up the good work, and keep relying on God!

  3. I’m not listening to “4” I like the sound of 6 better, so that’s what I’m rejoicing about today! 🙂

    You are doing so great!! You’ll have to read my column on April 1st. It’s along these same lines.

  4. Oh My Goodness Girl!! How awesome is that??? Great, I have the same problem. I hate to exercise. 4 pounds in one week??? That is so good. I am with our church “First Place” program and I was doing good to loose 1 a week! You have got a great start. You go girlie!!! Hang in there. God Bless!

  5. I too am lazy- and hitting the exercise track too. You are doing very well and should be very proud of yourself!

  6. Yea!!! I”m doing a happy dance for you, or I would if I had enough breath. I love the verse you included and I am going to copy it to my journal today.

Leave a Reply

