A Brand New Day

I have been really discouraged lately and then I read Darlene’s post today and I knew this post was just for me!

I have struggled with weight as far back as I can remember. I am slowly learning that I need to train my brain to believe the best about myself because so far the voices in my head have condemned me to be FAT for the rest of my life. I’ve made some good choices in eating and changing my lifestyle but my mindset is not changing and therefore I am not losing weight. I need to exercise and I am struggling with this one!

I have several excuses that I use on a regular basis but lately I am tired of hearing myself come up with excuses. It’s the biggest obstacle in my journey to weight loss! Today I am trying to figure out what is best for me as far as exercise goes. I checked out the Curves gym here in my home town, I’m not sure what to think of it! Part of the problem is that because of my schedule I need to do a workout before work and they are only open at 6:30 a.m. and I would need to start at least at 6 or find a way to get ready for work quicker. The other option is to maybe get something like a treadmill or bike for home which I think I would prefer but that is a more expensive option which my husband is against because he thinks we have no room in our house for exercise equipment. What would be the best low impact aerobic exercise for me that I could really commit to and have the least amount of pain?

I am also going to a homeopathic doctor next week and hope to get some answers with some of my medical issue’s that I have been having since a regular doctor has no answers for me!

I am still here, still struggling with what I need to do to put myself on a different path.

Thanks for sharing the struggle with me!

8 thoughts on “A Brand New Day

  1. I go to Curves! I love it. But lately I haven’t felt like going. Still I go, whether I feel like it or not. The weather will be nice soon, maybe you can bike ride or walk. But if so, you can still dance today. 🙂

  2. I’m so with you. I’m tired of hearing my excuses too! Seek God first and all this other stuff will be put in line. You’ll find the right path!

  3. We can struggle and encourage each other together! I have alot of the same issues you have! We can positive talk to each other! I would check out the Curves. We had one here for awhile and I think it would be good for you. I know the hours aren’t the best, but check it out further. Also do you have a Contours in your area? Maybe that would be a little different.

  4. Crystal. I’ve struggled with weight my whole life as well, so I know this struggle very well.
    before I had my kids I lost 120lbs! now I’ve gained most of it back, but I know what I need to do to get it off.. and you are very right, it’s a lot in the attitude!
    You can do it. I know you can. I’ll be praying that God will give you the will power and strength to do it!!!

  5. Try deep water aquasize…. I love it. It’s such a great work out and minimizes the pain on your body….

  6. I’ve found that I’ve needed to try many different excersizes to find what I like. I would suggest going to gym and few times, and try out ALL their equipment. (even the quipment that you think you would hate, try those too, you very well could have done this already)
    It’s SO vitally important to find something YOU like to do. You might hate walking for example, if that’s the case, do not buy a treadmill, thinking that’s the only thing you might be capable of doing right now.
    Also, aerobic is important, but don’t forget about strength training, things like weights, they help with weight loss just as much as aerobic and cardio, but gets overlooked quite often. When you’re building muscle, your body takes fat from other areas of your body to build into the muscles your working. So while you may think that doing some arm curls aren’t doing anything productive when your brain is thinking you have all this fat to lose on other areas of your body, those excersizes could very well be pulling the fat out of the areas you’re desiring to change. Food for thought.
    Terri is absolutely right, God will give you the direction you need, the details will work themselves out. Blessings, God WILL finish the good work He’s started in you!!!! Be encouraged, the spirit of determination and perseverance will not go unrewarded by your heavenly father.

Leave a Reply

