A Powerful Force

For the Ultimate blog party please scroll down to HERE.

 

To Win on of my CD’s please check out my Ultimate blog party post @ my blog, “God is in control”.

 

Now on to our regularly scheduled programing…

“From the beginning of time God has been worshiped with music and praise. Even as God laid the earth’s foundations, “the morning stars sang together and all the angels shouted for joy.” (Job 38:4-7). The first account of we have of God’s people praising Him with music is when Moses and the Israelites sang an incredible hymn of praise, thanking God for His spectacular win over Pharaoh and his army. Their shout’s of joy must have sounded so victorious as they sang. “The Lord is my strength and my song; He has become my salvation. He is my God, and I will praise Him, my father’s God, and I will exalt Him: (Exodus 15:1-7). Singing was the immediate response of the children of Israel to God’s incredible deliverance. Notice they never sang to each other, but they responded to the Lord with a song of praise to Him.

Music is a powerful force, created by God to stir the core of a person like nothing else can. The more I know Him, the more I understand the power of then music that is so real inside me.

The Lord is sending new songs for us to sing. They are prophetic songs. They are songs of praise. They are songs of unity, song of intimacy, and songs of war. They are rising among us, restoring peace and righteousness. They are songs of grace and forgiveness, songs of mercy and compassion, songs of strength and justice, and songs of power and might. The sound of worship is being restored to it’s rightful place and being offered to it’s only Benefactor.”

(Excerpt taken from the book “Extravagant Worship” by Darlene Zschech)

For me Music has always been a part of my life. It’s like the air I breathe! From early on in my life I knew that God had given me the gift of music. Music brings change in my life, God breathes new life in me through music and I just can’t imagine my life without it, from the old, old hymns of faith to the new worship or R&B or even rap.

Over the years though I have come across several people who have told me that music doesn’t impact them that way. In fact they have better worship when they don’t have any music going and there is complete silence. I have to admit that this shocked me a little but since agreeing to be mentored over the last year I really have learnt about the art of worship “in silence”. I am learning so much about myself in solitude but it has made my worship in music more powerful. I can’t explain it other than to say it’s like having Jesus come and sit down next to me and wrap His arms around me because He delights so much in my worship, the intimacy is so real I cannot describe it.

Can I ask? What experiences have you had with worship and what does that look like for you? Do you worship best with music or with drawing a picture, taking a photograph, in dance or even in solitude when you are alone with God? Please feel free to share your thoughts, I know that it’s different for each of us.

God created us to worship Him, it’s built into us like breathing. So take a deep breath…inhale His presence today! Let Him share His glory with you in worship today!

Thanks for Stopping by, Ya’ll come back now, ya hear! 

3 thoughts on “A Powerful Force

  1. I love music so much. I love to hear our church choir every Sunday morning. I wish that I could sing but that talent was given to others, but I still love to feel the chill bumps racing up and down my body when I hear others share their talent. What a wonderful feeling. Only comes from God! Thanks for a great post.

  2. music effects me.. there are times when I get a song in my head and can’t get it out until I cry it out in a prayerful way… but moreso, I worship with my art. in the silence of creating and trying to do my graphics.. i know, it’s not noisy and I don’t do them for anyone else but for myself and God, even if I do share them with others. It’s the way I think.. through my hands…

Leave a Reply

