Feeling Small!

gecko.jpg

This picture is a great representation of how I have been really feeling lately…really small in the grand scheme of things.

This is another big part of my struggle to let God have control. I am stubborn, I want things my way and God in His graciousness has let me have control. Of course I have messed things up again and getting back on track is not as easy as I had hoped it would be. I can come up with several excuses which could justify my feelings but all of them just seem stupid. They are just circumstances and my own disillusionment. So in the process of trying to scratch, claw and drag myself out of this hole I put myself in I have realized again that I don’t need to do anything. My Father is waiting to help me out if only I would just look up and reach for His hand. I am unable to fix this gap between me and Him on my own, I need Him!

Circumstances happen, husbands, friends & family disappoint & hurt us and even our church will let us down at some point but He never changes.

He is the only constant in this storm of life! He is the rock that never moves…I just wish I would get it and not have to keep learning this lesson over and over again.

God most often speaks to me in songs and this song has just pierced me today.

These are the words to the song but please take the time to follow the link and listen to the song because it’s not just the words that makes this song powerful, it’s the melody.

Praise You in This Storm
words by Mark Hall/music by Mark Hall and Bernie Herms

I was sure by now,God, that You would have reached down
and wiped our tears away,
stepped in and saved the day.
But once again, I say amen
and it’s still raining
as the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain,
“I’m with you”
and as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise
the God who gives and takes away.

Chorus:
And I’ll praise you in this storm
and I will lift my hands
for You are who You are
no matter where I am
and every tear I’ve cried
You hold in your hand
You never left my side
and though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I remember when I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry to You
and raised me up again
my strength is almost gone how can I carry on
if I can’t find You
and as the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
and as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise
the God who gives and takes away

I lift my eyes onto the hills
where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth
I lift my eyes onto the hills
where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth

I know that I have struggled with visiting all of you at your blogs so for that I hope you will forgive me. I will do my best to get back on track in reading and trying to be an encouragement as your fellow blogger. Thank you for your patience with me!

12 thoughts on “Feeling Small!

  1. Don’t worry about getting back to me for I know you will when the time is right. I hope that things are going good for you today. Just thinking about you and wanted to say hello! Praying for you today – God Bless~

  2. i love that song, and I love you! I know how small i feel, so you’re not alone in feeling that way!
    re: toontown, I made it but everyone was screaming we actually left the next morning ..poor mr. joshy was sick and so was Greg!
    so I should ask, when ya coming to visit the Queen? (laughing cuz anyone else readin gthis will think i’m talking weird unless their from here eh?)

  3. That is very sweet!

    And it also reminds us…that no matter what, we are in God’s hands and He is supporting us and protecting us!

    Lovely imagery!!

  4. Oh, I’m so sorry you are struggling.

    I know God loves when we praise Him in those storms. (That’s one of my favorite songs.)

    I pray things start turning around for you.

    Keep holding on my friend!

  5. Love this song!! You are in my prayers, dear one! Thanks for stopping by and offering your sweet words of encouragement. Keep praising him through the storm, and bask in his glory!!

  6. Hi ,
    Love your new blog.My son broke his foot playing soccer.His cast is off now but it is still healing.

  7. It is such a wonderful hymn, I
    like it. Even in storms, the Lord
    is still with you and will help you
    out off it peacefully.

  8. can relate can relate can relate! Man! When will it sink in that He loves us NOT based on our performance but based on Jesus and what He’s already done!!?? I do this too….strive in my flesh, only to make a mess, only to try and get out, only to have God say, hello? There’s nothing you can do!
    am so hearing your heart here, and am blessed that you shared. Good to know I’m not alone!
    And I know how hard it is to keep up with blogs, especially when there’s a lot to keep up with. Don’t worry about it. I haven’t been here in what feels like ages! So I forgive you! haha!

  9. God’s blessings and peace to you. It is wonderful to listen to words of encouragement from song. Let us continue to make a joyful noise unto the Lord. Just imagine the music that we are going to hear and make in heaven praising God. Continue encouraging each other in the Lord.

Leave a Reply

