Sunday Worship – In Spirit & In Truth!

spirit1.jpg

Please Read Galatians 5:16-26 (please read it at least 3 times)

  • In light of this scripture what do you think Paul is saying when he says “when you are directed by the Spirit, you are not under obligation to the law of Moses.“?

What I believe that Paul is saying to the Galatians is that law and tradition should not dictate how you live your life. Inviting the Holy Spirit daily into our lives is a daily act of living by the spirit.

  • What are the fruits of living by the Spirit? Are they a part of our nature? Why or Why not?

Vs 22 & 23 But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things!

They are not a part of our nature, our nature is sinful therefore doesn’t naturally produce this fruit. The fruit we would naturally produce is listed in vs 19-21:

When you follow the desires of your sinful nature, the results are very clear: sexual immorality, impurity, lustful pleasures, idolatry, sorcery, hostility, quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger, selfish ambition, dissension, division, envy, drunkenness, wild parties, and other sins like these.

  • When you read this scripture is there any new insight you have gained about worship?

Verse 24 really struck me when I was reading it again.

“Those who belong to Christ Jesus have nailed the passions and desires of their sinful nature to his cross and crucified them there.”

This means to me that it’s a daily choice to nail my sinful nature to the cross. It means bringing everything I have, failures and everything and just letting Jesus have it all. I believe that when I do, this my act of worship. It’s a choice, act of my will! This is what I know in my head meets my heart and my life is changed.

I hope this look at scripture this week was as thought provoking for you as it was for me!

If you are participating please leave a comment with your blog address or email so that I can check out your post or respond to your comment here!

One thought on “Sunday Worship – In Spirit & In Truth!

Leave a Reply

