In Spirit and Truth…

This week has been kind of a difficult week for me spiritually; I have been struggling with what to write that could provide some insight into Worship that would be valuable and worth your time to read because honestly, we have all heard most of this before right? We are a worship kind of generation; we are surrounded by some of the greatest artists of our time, who have some amazing music that touches us like no other songs can touch us. We connect emotionally to the music and therefore feel connected to God, but what about when the music is gone? Do you feel connected to God? Here is my dilemma, I am better with music than I am with words. I have long felt like I have this gift when I am singing to help people to connect to God in a unique way, but, when I go to write my thoughts, well, I make tonnes of spelling and grammatical errors that could distract many people from what I am going to say. I do want to bring my best, but I often feel less than adequate when I am writing!

There is story in the bible that grips me every time I read it and I wanted to share it with you.

Reading from Luke 7:36(NLT) One of the Pharisees asked Jesus to have dinner with him, so Jesus went to his home and sat down to eat. 37 When a certain immoral woman from that city heard he was eating there, she brought a beautiful alabaster jar filled with expensive perfume. 38 Then she knelt behind him at his feet, weeping. Her tears fell on his feet, and she wiped them off with her hair. Then she kept kissing his feet and putting perfume on them.

Can you see this woman in your mind? Can you see her? Take a few minutes and just let Jesus paint a picture for you of this woman…

Jesus knew the thoughts of the self righteous Pharisee’s. He told a parable to help make a point with them. But when I am really honest with myself, I would probably have felt and thought the same things as the Pharisee’s. I mean who really wants a prostitute in your home right? What would people think?

Listen to Jesus’ words…

44 Then he turned to the woman and said to Simon, “Look at this woman kneeling here. When I entered your home, you didn’t offer me water to wash the dust from my feet, but she has washed them with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You didn’t greet me with a kiss, but from the time I first came in, she has not stopped kissing my feet. 46 You neglected the courtesy of olive oil to anoint my head, but she has anointed my feet with rare perfume. 47 “I tell you, her sins—and they are many—have been forgiven, so she has shown me much love. But a person who is forgiven little shows only little love.” 48 Then Jesus said to the woman, “Your sins are forgiven.”

This woman knew her inadequacies; she was reminded of them every single day! She didn’t let that stop her though, as imperfect as she was, she brought Jesus what she had and as it turns out, it was worth more to Jesus than words can describe. He only saw her worship, her adoration, not her sin. He loved her worship, it was unreserved, extravagant! So this raises the question for me; do I let my inadequacies hold me back from being a worshiper? Or do I just do it and forget about what people think?

Well I think you have my answer… I pray that the thoughts I bring here are as fragrant as that alabaster jar of perfume that Mary brought to wash Jesus’ feet. I know my inadequacies, putting my thoughts to words is definitely a struggle for me but I trust that you will only see a woman kneeling at Jesus’ feet, crying about the sin that makes her less that adequate but totally in love with Jesus and learning to be an extravagant worshiper.

Would you join me in the journey?

Next week we are going to be starting a monthly meme called “In Spirit & in Truth”. I really want you to get involved and share your perspectives so on Thursday we will have your questions ready as well as a pretty button to put on your blog and we will get you to link to us on Sunday so that we can read your thoughts. If you don’t have a blog, don’t worry, just send me answers by email and I will be happy to read and respond to your thoughts. Again, the questions will be here as well as the button on Thursday, you will post something and link to us on Sunday for Sunday Worship, it will always be on the last Sunday of every month so you know exactly what to expect! I am so excited to hear from all of you!

If at any point you have some burning questions or some feedback for me please feel free to leave it in a comment and I will email you personally!

3 thoughts on “In Spirit and Truth…

  1. That was awesome. As well, I’m often reminded of Paul who said, “I did not come to you with excellence of speech.” Paul came with the gospel–pure and simple. It is powerful all on its own.

    Thanks for the inspiration!!

  2. A heart felt post Crystal. It makes me.. or rather reminds me that I need to make sure I’m giving Jesus my best and what’s of value than just the crumbs that sometimes happen at the end of the day.

    I’ll be joining you! I think it will be a great challenge!

    xoxo
    Amydeanne

Leave a Reply

