New Year’s resolutions?(updated with pictures)

Well I never have been big with new years resolutions but I do set goals for myself every year of things I would like to accomplish, but with the new year approaching I find myself really confused and scattered. I accomplished huge goals this year with making the CD and giving up coke and getting into a healthier pattern. This year has been filled with lots of highs and lows, but mostly highs getting to fulfill a lifelong dream in making my CD…. but now I don’t know what to set as new goals?

I feel like I don’t contribute much anymore to the blogging world and want to get better at that with more encouraging posts and learning to become a better writer. I feel like I have so many things that I need to do in the new year but none of them will be fun or exciting so I hesitate in even making a plan because I dread change. Is anyone else feeling this way or is it just me!

I know that one of my goals this year is to drop 100 pounds but that is going to be a long hard struggle. I need something exciting and challenging to balance this out. Would you pray about this with me? To top all of this off I have been struggling the last few weeks with a really bad bought with depression. This has been one of the worse low’s I have experienced in a long time and I know that allot of it is related to the lack of sunshine for the last 6 weeks (which is very unlike Saskatchewan). The other part of it is just learning to surrender what I feel like my calling is to God even if that means I will never get to live out what I feel my calling is. Some of it is learning to surrender and the other part is allowing God to reshape the calling into something other than what my plan was. I keep saying to myself that things will be better tomorrow but the struggle has been a long hard one, the light at the end of the tunnel has been very dim. I just shut down socially when this happens, I don’t want anyone around me, I don’t want anyone to know that I am struggling and more than that I feel alone even in a room full of people who I know love me deeply. I can cry at the drop of a hat and anyone who knows me knows that I HATE crying so when I say I am glad I am on my way out of this black hole is an understatement.

On the up side Barry and I were able to buy a truck over the weekend and my man is a very happy camper to say the least. He has wanted a truck for a long time and we were finally able to get one for him, and a nice one too. It’s a 2004 GMC Sierra and I am fond of the color more than anything else(leave it to a woman to pick a truck for the color alone hey?).

img_1397.jpg

To top that off my hubby got a GPS system from my Dad for Christmas which he is over the moon about. We got lots of great presents but this one has put a huge smile on my hubby’s face (Thanks Dad!). We also celebrated our 16th anniversary on Friday and my hubby came home with 4 dozen pink & red roses. I love roses so the fact that he remembered our anniversary before he went to work and brought home flowers after work really made my day.  If you want to see some pictures of our family’s Christmas please go to this Album

Our family trip to Edmonton went well, (Barry’s family lives out there)we found a housesitter 2 days before we were suppose to leave so that was a little tense for awhile but I guess those are the things I have to deal with when I have so many animals. It frustrates Barry but I feel that the struggle is worth it especially when you have great dogs like I have :o)) My friend Darla also came to look in on my dogs to let them out when our housesitter was not able to be around and considering the fact that she doesn’t like dogs as much as me, it must mean she likes me allot so I am grateful for such a good friend! Thanks Darla!  To see some pictures from our trip to see Barry’s Family please visit this Album.  There are pictures in this album from last Christmas too so make sure you got to the back end of this album.

Well that is my little update! I hope that all of you have a very Happy New Year filled with many rich blessings that only God can provide!

Thanks for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “New Year’s resolutions?(updated with pictures)

  1. Hey Girl! I have missed you. I love your writing. I know what you mean about the depression thing. I think that this hormone thing is really getting to me. I’m not very happy during those times. Maybe this year will be good for us! Good to hear about the new truck. Sounds like you had a nice Christmas. Hope you have a Wonderful New Year! Thanks for your visit!

  2. Its not that I don’t like dogs, I just don’t like them as much as you do. And yes I do like you alot!!!

  3. Hi Cyrstal,
    Thanks for stopping by. I’m really sorry you are having a hard time.

    I’ll pray for the Lord to continue to reveal Himself to you and His plans for your life in a deeper and greater way this coming year.

    You’re not alone.

    Thanks for being such a blessing to so many!

  4. Heh my Dearest Crystal! I pray for y you every day! God has blessed us with such a wonderful family!everyone in their own way! I seem to find it hard keeping up the blog and facebook, but when I do I have fun doing it! together will seek God in the year 2008!

  5. hey i’m with you on the weightloss! that is my goal this year as well! I’ll be praying for you, and i have to apologize for not getting back to you about Dec. my brain went in over drive with all the holidays, and I just didn’t get anywhere with all the stress, so please forgive.
    With all that. Happy New year.

  6. As I read your post, I prayed for you. I hope you are feeling better and that your mood is uplifted and lighter. I have had bouts of depression. I find January to be the worst month. I think we just have to plan outings and outlets that we can get excited about so that we have that to look forward to. Sunshine difinitely helps.. Well light!! That’s why my windows on the back of the house are uncovered to let the light in even on the dreariest days.
    Hang in there, I wish you a prosperous and happy new year.

  7. Hey Crystal. It was nice to see your comment the other day at Windows. Always a joy to hear from you! God bless your New Year in Christ, and may the joy of the Lord be your strength!

    In His Grace,
    Vicki

  8. Crystal, I will join in praying with you about writing and weight loss and whatever else is on your heart for 2008. Same here…it’s so hard at midlife to pull of the extra weight, especially when I have a sluggish thyroid & goiter.

    If you’re interested in getting support for your writing, I’d like to invite you to Writer Interrupted’s new group for Christian writers who find their writing interrupted for various reasons:-) Gina Conroy heads up that group. Let me know, sweetie.

    love,
    Vicki

  9. You are a great writer. I like how organized and easy it is to read your thoughts. CONGRATULATIONS on the CD. You might just be famous one day…God is good like that. He surprises us all of the time.

    I pray you feel better soon. You are a blessing. I know that extra weight will shed…I have been there!!! Keep your focus on the Lord and He will guide your every step to a healthier and leaner you.

  10. You were in Edmonton? Oh…I would have met up with you when we were there!
    Lovely truck! Try tanning, it helps “brighten” up the mood!

Leave a Reply

