Live Well Wednesday

This is my first post in my new blog so I want to say welcome, thanks for stopping by!

I wish I could say I was winning the battle this week, there are so many things discouraging me right now, I won’t go into it but I am struggling. With my emotional struggling comes the food struggles. Just when I think I have finally got it together, it all falls apart again. I know that most of it is just the struggle to let God have control, my humanness vs trying to please God. I can’t honestly say that I have not given in to my desires to binge at this point but I did give in to chocolate the other night at my lay counseling meeting. I didn’t get this weight over the years because I eat allot, I got this big because of little things, a second helping, snacking after supper, giving in to my cravings for chocolate & coke. Even when I changed from regular coke to diet coke I didn’t lose much weight because none of the other habits changed. So now I am 40 and trying to change habit’s I have had for more than 30 years. I have always been the chubby one, or pleasantly plump as some family members called me and for me it’s a struggle because I have never been anything but that so I have no other thinking to fall back on. All I can do is try to imagine what a skinny person thinks and try to emulate that. I am praying that God will continually renew my mind so that I can change how I think. Romans 12:2 says “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.“I know the work that God is doing is something that will result in his perfect will being played out in my life. My next 40 day plan is

  1. To add vitamins to what I am doing. Calcium before bed helps to relax and is the best time to take it because your body absorbs it better when you are resting. I am also adding something called Garden 7 which is a supplement to help boost the vitamins that you would get from fruit & veggies.
  2. To take some carbs out of my diet and increase my protein intake. Whole grain breads and Whole grain pasta will be my options instead of the regular bread & pasta. I also have protein soups & drinks that I will use to curb the cravings I get.
  3. I will hug my family more! Experts say that when you hug ( at least for 1 minute)it releases something into your system that curbs your carb cravings. Carbs release something into your system that make you want to eat more, so my rule of thumb is, give a hug before dinner, eat all my protein first and leave the carbs for last. When that happens you feel full quicker! Plus you will have more hugs, what could be better than that?

These are the 3 new things I have started to add to my routine on top of not drinking coke, drinking 8 + glasses of water a day and not eating after dinner. I pray that this will help me to focus on health and not on weight loss. How are you doing this week? Is there anything you are doing that is helping you in particular over something else? I would love to know what it is!

To check out other people in the live well challenge please go HERE
Thanks for stopping by!!

9 thoughts on “Live Well Wednesday

  1. I LOVE #3. I’ve never heard it before, but I’m going to give it a try. Perhaps it’s a way of releasing anxiety that tends to lead you to carbs.

    I wrote about chocolate and Romans 12 too!

  2. {{{Crystal}}}

    Sometimes the battle looks so big that we do get discouraged. Incorporating little steps one at a time and making them a new habit is a good route to take. Don’t try to add too much at once or it will be easy to stumble and get discouraged about it all.

    YOU CAN DO IT! Go, Crystal!

    Blessings,
    Tammy ~@~

  3. hey!! love the new blog! it’s beautiful! and I’m there with you on struggles.. it’s so hard to change when we “like” our habits!

  4. I’m gonna hug hug my husband and dog more this week lol – love it!!!

    “I know the work that God is doing is something that will result in his perfect will being played out in my life”

    AMEN!!

  5. Love your new blog! I am so proud of you! It is not easy to make changes, but little by little it can be done and will become habit. I have been trying to make better/healthier choices as well. One of the changes I have made that I really like is the Barilla Plus pasta that has a higer content ofprotein, fiber and omega 3 and it tastes really good!

  6. I just stumbled upon your blog today. I really like it! I am bookmarking you.

    It sounds like you have a great set of goals lined up. I know from experience that what you are doing will work and give you the results you desire. One day you will look in the mirror and do a double take in surprise. You won’t be able to get over the new woman staring back at you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

