Living Well – Week 3

It’s been 14 days now since I have had a glass of Coke Zero!It’s gone permenantly from my life now, I will never drink it again! I am now officially clean and sober 14 days and even though I know it’s not nearly as bad as what alcoholics have to deal with I think I am getting a small taste of how hard it is to deal with some more serious addictions. I’m coming to realise some things about myself in this process, here are a couple of the ah ha moments I will share with you; * Why is it so hard to say “I will never drink a glass of coke again”? I always have said well I will do this for this amount of time and then I can have it again, so the end has always justified the means. But I am coming to realise that I don’t want boundaries in my life in many areas and that includes drinking Coke and eating, I just want to do what I want to do….but as a believer and follower of Jesus, He wants boundaries in my life to protect me just as I protect my kids and place boundaries in their lives. Once I understood that my self control was a boundary that honored God, the decision to give up Coke was allot easier. I am not doing it for me anymore! * The battle with food has been allot harder for me, I can say I will never have a coke again but how can I give up eating? Making healthy choices is not always that easy when I have established bad habits in my home that not only I will have to break, but my family will have to give up as well. I wish I had the answer to this one but it’s really made me look at what I am doing and why. Hopefully I can root out the problem and hopefully my family will have patience with me while I do that. Part of the problem I believe is that my fat is a protective layer against hurt. I have set things up in such a way that most people don’t get past the fact that I am Big because I don’t want them to, I expect them to disappoint me so I make sure that they do.So I am still kind of working on why I do that but it has been a very revealing week for me! You know something else? My God loves me even now, even though I am not my ideal weight and even though I fail him often, He still loves me! He reminds me through my friends who chose to look past the outside, through my family who have stuck it out with me through the thick and thin, He even reminds me by speaking to me with His still small voice. I am so in awe of Him! These verses reminds me that He knows everything about me and still cares about me!From Psalms 139 13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,
16 your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.
What ah ha moments have you had this week? Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Living Well – Week 3

  1. Amen my lovely friend. God loves you just the way you are, all you have to be is Crystal. Come by my blog, I have an award for you. I love you.

  2. 21 Breaks the habit for good…that’s what I am told..that is great!! VICTORY!!

    Healthy choices are tough, and you are wise to pray your way through it!!
    praying for you!
    ~peace,
    lori

  3. Blessings Crytal. I enjoyed reading your post. We have some of the same struggles. Hang in there. Recognizing that God made you just the way you are and loving yourself is a big part of it.
    Mama Bear

  4. I gave up all soda/Coke a long time back now!! I have not missed it. i was a coke-aholic!! REALLY I was!! Now I realize that i do not need it at all!! You will do just fine!! It is so hard to do the right thing for ourselves especially when it comes to eating. It can be done though…Sandy

Leave a Reply

