How much do I love Him?

This last week has been a really difficult one! I have been really challenged lately in my personal devotions and time with God to give things up. He has asked me how much I love Him? And to be honest it’s really been a struggle to say goodbye to some things that have been my constant companion through every pain and difficulty in my life. I am emotionally attached to them and I to be honest am like a lost puppy today but I am forging ahead in faith that the God who asked this of me will give me the strength to run this race. The last week I literally fought with God because I did not want to do this, and then I looked in the mirror and it reminded me of a 2 year old having a huge temper tantrum, I wanted my way, not God’s way! It was a huge reality check because I have been asking God to re-mold me, to take away the things in my life that are not pleasing to Him so He is doing what I am asking of Him, but, I have been unwilling to do my part. So in my devotions on Monday morning I finally surrendered and gave up my will.
So here it is in a nutshell….
I will never diet again but I will improve my lifestyle habits by;
  • No longer drinking Coke(because I realized that I loved it more than I love God, I depend on it more than I depend on God to get me through a rough time) but instead drinking 8 glasses of water a day.
  • No more snacking after dinner (No eating after 6-7p.m.)
  • Before each meal I will pray for direction in eating the right thing in the right amount whether I make it or I eat out. So I will honor God will my choices for food and submit my will for His.
This is my commitment to Living Well
Let me clarify something too, I am not doing this to lose weight. Nowhere during this time will I step on a scale because if I do it will become something it shouldn’t be and I will be not doing it to honor God anymore. If I lose some weight, great, but it is not the focus. The focus is hopefully moving me on to maturity and developing the fruit of self control. Allot of what God has been revealing to me is how I lack self control in so many areas in my life, my temper, my spending, my eating, my devotions and it’s a fruit of the spirit so I need the evidence of it in my life. This is going to be a tough road, and I covet your prayers!
I know I cannot do it alone.
So tell me what is your commitment to living well? I’d be interested in knowing! What is God challenging you in? I will post my weekly progress in living well here on Tuesdays so I hope you will join me and we can support each other.
Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate your friendship!

10 thoughts on “How much do I love Him?

  1. I am inspired by you my dear friend, I think this is wonderful. May you be blessed, I will be praying for you.

  2. drinking more water is defineately on my list! and cutting down the sugar.. we’ve been working on that together (dh& i)

  3. My commitment to living well are many of those same things. I gave up coffee…it was an addiction. I need to give up diet pepsi. I find I am drinking it on weekends and need for it not to be a part of my life. I rarely eat sugar.
    I’m exercising, eating healthy,and stepping on the scale. This scale is my friend and a good source of encouragement for me. I am in this to lose weight as I don’t feel that I will live an optimal lifestyle for me if I were to stay as heavy as I am.
    But, if it takes 1-2 years I’m fine with it. Little steps at a time!
    Thanks for sharing!!
    🙂

  4. Wow…I’ve been dealing with this exact issue for the past 2 months. I’ve been working on it, but it’s been more of a struggle than I thought it would be.

    Praying with you on this…

  5. praying for you…you’ve inspired me to evaluate what I need to do in my own life…

  6. Will be praying for you my friend! Giving up Coke will be hard, but you can do it with God’s help. I gave up Soda/Pop a few years ago and it was awful, but I was victorious and now can’t even take a sip of the stuff.

  7. Oh, wow, this speaks to me. Blessings to you during this time of letting His grace undergird you for the changes that will come. I need to do much of the same, Crystal, yet I know in my flesh, there is nothing good. And after all these years (I’m nearly 52 now) I realize that relying on self to accomplish discipline isn’t worth very much. But relying on Him–that’s different:-) His Spirit will fuel you and His Spirit will produce good fruit in you as you walk in surrender. God bless you. I just wanted to encourage you today.

    All grace,
    Vicki

  8. Heh there dear Daughter!I am encouraged, I will be praying for you. ONE NICE ADVICE FOR YOU IS, ”The secret to receiving guidance from God is a humble Heart” That is for me too.

Leave a Reply

