Painful defining moments

This post was revised to add the quote for this weeks In Other Words
“They gave our Master a crown of thorns. Why do we hope for a crown of roses?”
~ Dr. Martin Luther

This week has been a particularly difficult week! It’s been filled with lots of pain. The pain of being misunderstood and knowing that no matter which way I turn or decision I make someone will misinterpret something I said or did.
Until today I did not even realize how much I strive for the approval of man but there has been a light bulb moment for me today! This is the pain that proves what I am made of and I can stand up and forge forward or I can sit at home and complain about life’s injustices.

It also occurred to me today that Jesus’ life was filled with the pain of being misunderstood. Don’t misunderstand, I in no way think my life even compares to that of my Jesus but why do I feel that my life should be so cushy when my Lord suffered and died for me?
Listen to these verses

John 1:10-11
“He came into the very world he created, but the world didn’t recognize him. He came to his own people, and even they rejected him.”

Isaiah 53:3 He was despised and rejected—a man of sorrows, acquainted with deepest grief. We turned our backs on him and looked the other way. He was despised, and we did not care.
hese are Jesus’ words not mine!
From Luke 9:23-25
Then he said to the crowd, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily, and follow me. If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it. And what do you benefit if you gain the whole world but are yourself lost or destroyed?”


I think I am just beginning to understand what my cross is and what taking my cross up daily means. I so thankful that He continues to walk with me even when I fail Him. God uses the pain in my life both physical and social to refine me and show me that I cannot do anything in my own strength. It is only through Him I am strong!

So today I am welcoming the pain, because it’s like the refining fire that is removing things from me that make me less than who He created me to be. It raises the impurities to the top so that they can be removed. One day I will shine like pure gold and I can hardly wait for that day!

Thanks for stopping by!

18 thoughts on “Painful defining moments

  1. Wow! What a beautiful post! I can relate in so many ways. I have been having some similar struggles and it’s amazing how God opens up doors to others who can inspire and encourage us through those painful times…even if it’s through a strangers words on a blog!

  2. I so appreciate your open honesty. I think we all struggle with this “approval” thing. It is our human nature and to be misunderstood and hurt as a result, is a good way for our Lord to pinpoint our problem as you have shared so well.
    If we translated the word “cross” as “stake” we might understand that taking up our “stake” (which was an agent of death) means my flesh nature will be needing to die daily. I believe these were Paul’s words– so uncomfortable and so time consuming. Yet, so rich in result.
    Thank you for reminding us.
    Blessings.

  3. I love how real you are. Thanks for sharing about your faith journey as you encourage others too.

  4. Well said my friend! It is so true that He can and will use our physical pain! I find much comfort in that when I am in the midst of it!

  5. Oh – I am so sorry that people have misunderstood you. You know, I have had this happened quite often and it is painful…Although the refining process is sometimes really hard to go through, I know it is for us necessary.
    This post is perfect for the IOW quote I have picked for next week…

    Thank you for sharing from your heart with us…

    Blessings on you Sunday and always.

  6. What a beautiful and honest post. I know what you mean by being misunderstood any which way. I honor you for choosing to welcome the pain.

  7. Thanks for sharing. Reminds me of the verse “He sits as a refiner and purifier of silver.” Malachi 3:3. The refiner knew that the silver was refined enough to pull it out of the heat when he could see his image in the silver. May I be obedient enough to allow the refining heat in my life so that I can be more like Christ.

  8. This is the pain that proves what I am made of and I can stand up and forge forward or I can sit at home and complain about life’s injustices.

    You’re pumping me up here! You make me want to stand up and say “Boo Yah!” Thanks for the kick in the pants.

  9. I’m hoping for that day too! Blessings on you and the rest of us as we live out this life on earth!

  10. I too am thankful that He continues to walk with me even when I fail Him!

    Looking forward to that golden day as well…

  11. hugs my friend! what a hard quote.. sort of a slap in the face to wake up isn’t it? I love the verses you posted!

  12. I am so thankful that you ‘linked’ up to this week’s IOW with this post — it is so fitting 🙂

  13. beautiful words…I can sympathize in so many words…I’ll keep saying a prayer for you…

  14. Ah, you hit some of my nails on the head…approval. Thank you for sharing your heart my friend.

Leave a Reply

