In Other Words – Where is your treasure?

“The worth and excellency of a soul is to be measured by the object of its love.” Henry Scougal (The Life of God in the Soul of Man ), quoted by John Piper in The Pleasures of God

When I read this week’s quote the first words that came to my mind were
“Do you know where your treasure is?” from one of the songs I wrote on my new CD!

I have been on a journey! A journey of learning to know what my heart is wrapped around. God has slowly been peeling away layers and layers of protection in the “things” of this world and teaching me to treasure the things that really count.

Matt 6:19-21 “Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where moths eat them and rust destroys them, and where thieves break in and steal. Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal. Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.

Vivid images of my 18 year old cousin come to mind. He lived on the mission field with his parents and one day, a “freak accident” took him away from us on this earth. One minute he was breathing and giving the dog a bath, the next he was not. His life was so short but never in my 40 years have I ever gone to a funeral that meant so much because He didn’t just live….He lived for God 100% full time! The legacy he left in the 18 years he was on this earth was so powerful and it put me to shame. Had I been the one who had been called “home” that day, I doubt my testimony would even barely scratched the surface of the community I lived in. But Kelly’s death made me re-evaluate my life and what my heart was wrapped around.

I am learning to store up my treasures but they are not treasures of toys, or cars or money! I am learning to focus my time on the things that count not the things that don’t! Yes, I do need to go to work everyday but I don’t live to make money, I make money to live! There is a huge shift in my focus……

Can I be so bold as to ask, Where is your treasure?

What will people say about you when you are gone? What will your kids say(cause we all know kids are brutally honest right?)

These are the questions I am asking of myself and when I get to the end of my life and it’s all said and done. My deepest desire is to hear my Father’s voice say to me “Well done girl, Well done!” This is what motivates me now, it’s not what I want! It’s want He would want me to do because I love Him more than anything this world could offer me!

“This world is not my home, I’m just a passing through”……

For more people’s take on this week’s quote or to join in with your thoughts please visit Laurel and don’t forget to leave a comment to let me know you where here!

Thanks for stopping by!

7 thoughts on “In Other Words – Where is your treasure?

  1. Crystal, I don’t think you have any idea how much you impact the blogging community. Bless you for this and for your faithfulness. I really enjoyed reading this today.

  2. I LOVED my visit today..you have the words ringing in my head this morning…”I want to leave a legacy, how will they remember me, did I choose to LOVE?”

    I am on the journey with you!!
    beautifully said..
    peace today.
    lori

  3. Crystal this was awesome. And thank you for sharing about your 18 yr old cousin. I know exactly what you mean. I think today especially when we know so many people left this earth at one time, we ask…”what if it were me? It could have been. What would people say my treasure was?” I would not want them to say my treasure is my family (as important as that is), I want my treasure to be HIM!!

    Blessings.

  4. I think we go through life trying to figure out where our heart lies, and the constant struggle of it. I pray that my heart is melted and molded into God’s desire, as I pray yours is too!

  5. Really, very lovely. Aside from all the other tangible reasons to celebrate a Saint on their passing, dare I say that motivation of other believers is very important? How many times do we hear of that being the impetus to transform a lukewarm walk to an amazing runabout with the Lord!

    Thank you so much for sharing from your heart!

  6. I pray that the Lord will say “Well done, girl”…I want to meet people in heaven saying “Because you pointed to the cross, I am here with you feasting at His table”…Yeah, that is I would like to hear and see…

    Sometimes I can sidetracked, but I am glad that He puts me back on the right path.

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this past week’s IOW quote.

    Blessings to you and yours this glorious Sunday morning…

Leave a Reply

