In Other Words – The Power of Praise!

“Blessed Be Your name
When I’m found in the desert place
Though I walk through the wilderness
Blessed Be Your name…”
from the song “Blessed be Your Name”
by Matt Redman

Psalms 23:1 “The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.
2 He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters, 3 he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
4 Even though I walk
through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. 5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.
6 Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, a
nd I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.”
  • I have always been fascinated with these verses, especially after knowing the story behind the verses. David is on the run for his life, he is surrounded by his enemies and in the middle of the some of the most difficult days of his life he writes this psalm. I have always found myself wondering how he could do that? I panic over the slightest things and find it difficult to focus if I know someone is upset with me but Praise God in the middle of it? I don’t know about you but I can talk the talk but walking the walk is another thing entirely and until recently I did not even understand the concept of my cup overflowing.
Something recently that one of our Pastors spoke about in a message recently really struck a cord with me. He basically said this; “One of the most powerful weapons you have against the enemies attacks against you is in being thankful. In praising God when everything around you is falling apart, if you want to defeat the enemy begin to praise God in the middle of your darkest moments and Satan has to leave”. I am learning that this is not the easiest things to do forsure but when I say to God “I choose to praise you, I don’t understand it but I choose to be thankful for what I do have” there is a transformation in my heart that makes the anxiety have to leave and God’s peace take it’s place. Thankful Thursday has literally changed me from a pessimistic, depressed lonely person to someone who has learnt to count her blessings, I’m more optimistic and surrounded with friends who appreciate my quirks and laugh with me. I definetly laugh allot more, people have noticed a difference in me. I think truth is easier to recognise when you praise God in the middle of difficulties. I challenge you to test this theory, just praise God when you are confused, when your life seems in shambles and just see what God can do with your Thankful heart.
  • The other powerful weapon you have against the enemies attacks is “Worship Music”. Music is close to God’s heart, just look at how many time’s it’s mentioned in the Psalms alone…..there is so much power in worshiping God in song! My Pastor has said “Music can touch the heart of God” So sing away Ladies, sing away the blues, sing away your anxiety, reach up and touch the heart of God with your song. I don’t care if you can sing a note or not……God doesn’t care either, he just desire’s our praises!

This song is dear to my heart because it’s about making a choice to choose God, to praise Him, to follow Him in the midst of some of your biggest difficulties! It doesn’t say “If I feel like it, Blessed be your name” no it says “Blessed Be your name when I’m found in the desert place, though I walk through the wilderness Blessed be Your name”. It’s a decision of your will not a feeling! So next time you are feeling attacked from “all sides” remember your 2 most power weapons against the attack and make the enemy pack his bags and run!

For what other people are saying about this week’s “In Other Words” quote hop on over to Sting my Heart.

Thanks for stopping by!

14 thoughts on “In Other Words – The Power of Praise!

  1. I really enjoyed reading your entry! I agree that praise is most certainly a conscious choice we must make, even when our circumstances seem to dictate dispair instead.

    Thanks so much for sharing some of your heart!

  2. Beautiful entry Crystal! It is a decision of the will, but one that God will always honor. Bless you for sharing this week.

  3. Amen, praise takes the focus off ourselves (our worries, our troubles) and places our focus on Him where he will take care of everything.

    Blessings.

  4. Crystal – the entire time reading your post, all I could do it nodding my head “Yes” – and say “Amen”. I know it is not easy, but with His help we get to the place when we praise His name, instead of sticking our head in the sand or pulling the covers over our head.
    You said you don’t know how David did it — Think of your CD, you did it too; especially with your song “Refuge” 🙂

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this week’s IOW quote.

    Be blessed today and have a great time away from everything. Come back safely.

  5. I totally agree with you, being thankful and singing praise music can change your whole life! Thanks for a wonderful post.

  6. Your post reminded me of the story of Paul and Silus singing in jail!

    It is amazing the power of praise and thanksgiving.

    Thank you.

  7. Amen to that!! You hit the nail on the head with that powerful testimony! Praise the Lord for worship music!!! When we are driving and can’t “read” that is an awesome tool of praise and worship to our Lord!
    Be blessed—-thanks for your heartfelt words!

  8. How thankful I am for praise music! When I can’t do anything else (because of pain, and I know you can relate) I can sing or just listen and let the music fill my brain! It makes it so much easier to choose to be thankful despite circumstances.

  9. Awesome words Crystal!! It’s not a feeling, it is a decision of will – beautifully put.

  10. So very true that it is a decision of the will, and not a feeling. And what blessings He gives when we *do* make that choice to praise Him when it is hardest. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Thanks for the encouragement. I have found that singing truly does ward away the enemy. Though one instance stands out to me in particular that I will never forget..I know that it is a powerful weapon I have every day.
    I like the idea of Thankful Thursdays. Perhaps I’d be more of a positive person too then.

Leave a Reply

