Empty House syndrome

Well it’s been 1 week and a few days that my kids have been gone…..my house is clean……and staying fairly clean because we have been so busy…..but…..I have come to the conclusion today that I would much rather have the clutter and not be lonely without my kids…..sniff, sniff!

Cassandra’s Birthday was on Saturday and I couldn’t call her, but she called me so at least we got to sing to her! She was having a rough day and called us crying & both Barry and I felt like picking up right at that moment and going to get her. (some nasty girls decided to pick on her on her birthday)Luckily her friends made up for it by decorating her bed. She went to a dance on Wednesday with a boy, luckily they have a 6 inch rule in place or else I would not know what to do with myself!

Brandon called as well just to tell us that he was having fun, flying planes, getting thermometers stuck up his butt by his friends, yah you heard me! He thought it was funny but I didn’t think it that funny! He also added that he was 4 degree’s hotter than room temperature, OY! BOYS! He also forgot to wish his sister a Happy Birthday which I gave him a hard time for because He should have remembered! He also decided to ask my advice on how to ask a girl to the dance, and I said just say “would you like to go to the dance with me?”. “Ah Mom, don’t you have something better I can use?” Like I’ve been around the block a time or two and know all the one liners to get a girls attention…….LOL! Deep down I know he misses me!
They have had 2 days of hot hot weather, so much so that they could not do anything but stay inside on those days, they have had 2 weather watches for funnel clouds and have been evacuated once. All I can think of is how nice it will be when they are home where I can be close to them!

Barry and I had last week off from work and we just hung around home, I was in the studio on Monday & Tuesday, Tuesday night we milked cows from 10 p.m. until 3 a.m.
Wednesday we slept in, cleaned the house & I had dinner out with a friend, Thursday we slept in, I got my hair done at 1 p.m. and we went to my friend Darla’s for supper, after that we went to my cousin Murray’s 40 birthday party! He came up for a family wedding on the weekend and so we got to celebrate his birthday with him this year which is rare because he lives in Idaho with his family. Friday was just a lazy day! I slept most of the day & read a book! Saturday we had a family wedding, This is my cousin Karla and her new hubby!
We got to hang out with some of my relatives, and Barry and I milked cows on Saturday night again. Sunday we were at church early, came home and had some friends stop in and then we slept the afternoon away. Sunday night we watched Big Brother 8 and today I am back at work!

All I can say is that I hope this week goes just as fast……..I can hardly wait for Saturday when the kids come home!

4 thoughts on “Empty House syndrome

  1. Wow! It’s been a long time since I saw a pic of Murray! And how’d he get to be 40?! We graduated together, and I’m only 29…right…please someone tell me that I’m only 29! = )
    Janet

  2. I hear ya on the messes….I sometimes get upset because the kids dump their stuff all about. But then I know I would miss it. Enjoy your little break.

  3. Sounds like you have been staying busy, sorry you are missing your kids so much sweety.

  4. I know what you mean..I miss my daughter when she just goes off with her cousin for a couple of hours…I walk around like I lost something and can’t find it…and then that is when I get OCD about cleaning the house to distract myself! BTW…what book are you reading??? And FINALLY!!! Another blogging friend who watches Big Brother!!! I love that show…was glad Carol left but I would have rather seen Jessica on the block and gone….she is so annoying 😉

Leave a Reply

