Fruit of the Spirit

Galatians 5:19-26

The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery;
idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires. Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.

Lately I’ve been really convicted in these verses…….that my lifestyle and the words I speak don’t match……that there is more of the characteristics of the sinful nature in me than the fruits of the spirit…….and I am so apathetic to the sin in my life. I say I want to please God but often don’t even care that I am hurting Him with my sin…..

I am struggling……..Can I say that here? I am in a constant battle with my sinful nature…..with my pride & selfishness, with my desire to always have my own way…..and it effects all those that I love………they are the ones suffering because of me……..

I recently agreed to be mentored by one of the ladies in our church and I have to be honest……..it’s really hard…….crucifying my sinful nature is not easy because I kind of like it…..it’s comfortable, it’s what I know……..and where I am headed well it’s not comfortable at all, in fact I think I have spent more time crying the last 2 weeks than I would care to admit……..why is that? Why don’t I want people to know that I am weak? There are things being revealed in this process that I don’t like at all……..some of it even comes from my ancestors and unless I break the patterns my children will struggle with the very same things….insecurities that I cover with anger, bad habits & envy that keep me focused on something other than God……
The rooting out of the stuff that crowds God out is painful……and I dislike this pain allot……..but it’s necessary for a time……..
I heard this song on Sunday and I can’t help but share it……I’m doing allot of crying out to Jesus these days…..I pray that it encourages you!

8 thoughts on “Fruit of the Spirit

  1. Bless you Crystal for laying your heart out for God to see, and to heal. I love, and appreciate you dear one.

  2. Dearest Crystal…I wish I could take a walk with you and encourage you…I believe that you are being too hard on yourself…and I will tell you why…you are surrounding yourself with individuals who proclaim to be ideal Christians and set standards that are unrealistic. There is no such thing as the ‘perfect’ Christian…we are human…we are all sinners…and will always be…it is the way God made us. Rather than focus on all the ways in which you don’t meet ‘their’ standards…I would pray that you would focus on all that you have accomplished in your faith walk…which by all accounts (from reading your lovely blog) is enormous. I understand the influences in your life and from your past that have you ‘falling from grace’….I have to pick myself up daily because of these things…but each time I get up I am stronger and more faithful in the power of God..which again, is how and why He made us….lean on God…the all-forgiving – not on other Christians whose expectations of you are causing you much guilt and self-loathing..this is not what Christianity is all about. I know that this comment may not sit well with many..but I frustrates me to see a lovely individual such as yourself feel bad because she cannot meet a standard…Jesus is in your heart…allow the Holy Spirit to work in His way in His time…be patient with yourself and kind to yourself…and forgive yourself as God forgives you daily.

  3. It is hard to crucify yourself, but by subjecting ourselves to the process of sharpening with another believer, you will come out much stronger. I, too, have been struggling lately. When you share your burden with others, even via the internet, your burden becomes lighter. Keep your focus on God and He will make you into the woman He wants you to be. Blessings to you on your journey to God.

  4. the pruning hurts a bit, but the fruit will multiply. God bless you Crystal as you seek God with all you heart! that’s all He really wants from you! đŸ™‚

  5. I know what it’s like to hurt while growing…I can honestly say looking back on different times in my life that I don’t regret it one bit! Don’t let condemnation set in but also don’t be afraid to embrace the hard stuff with everything in you. You’ll love the results! Thank you for your honesty in sharing where you are right now. God bless you truly as you seek to please Him in everything.

  6. I am doing a lot of crying out, too, my friend. Stay strong. This kind of work brings us even closer to Him

  7. I’ve been struggling with some things too. I pray that you will allow God to mold you and fix your cracks so you can be whole!

  8. I love that song, Crystal…

    You know, we all struggle with our walk. Some days we do well, but other days are just so hard. But please remember that we will never, ever be perfect until we enter the Pearly gates of Heaven. We are a work in progress.
    When I am really down and low, Romans 8:1ff always comes to mind:
    “There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus…”

    Much love,
    <>< Iris

Leave a Reply

