Thankful Thursday


~Warning~
Gushy post to follow – Men enter at your own Risk!
Today I decided to do something different…..

This is my Dad! My Dad is a Dairy Farmer, He has never really known what it is like to take it easy because he’s always working hard. When I was growing up the first memories I have of my Dad is the tickle fights we had, me being the one getting all the tickling……When I was growing up because I was the oldest, I was the first to learn how to milk the cows. My first memory of that is getting kicked pretty hard by this cow (I was about 9, I think) and my Dad getting so mad at this cow that she got kicked back, Hard!(Anybody who knows my Dad would know he is a gentle soul and wouldn’t normally hurt a cow) As I grew up, my Dad taught me to drive, he taught me to fish, he is the one who taught me to love the outdoors, he taught me to have pride in my work, he taught me that we always have to laugh….even when life gets tough, we need to find something to laugh about. Thanks to my Dad and the time he always had for me, I am the woman I am today!
Happy Father’s Day Daddy , I am so Thankful for you!
(Mom could you show this post to Dad?)
This is the Father of my children & my husband with his kids! This man loves his children…..from the day they were born he thought that the sun rose & set with his kids. A short time after Brandon was born……my husband was laid off from his job……..so instead of going back to work right away……..he took some time just to be a Dad…..He got up with me at night, and walked the floor with this colicky little baby. He loves his boy, they are so close and I am sure it’s because of the bond he took the time to form with him at the beginning of his life. From the day Cassandra was born she has been his “princess” or “babe”. She is so much like him in humor and temperament it’s not even funny….She goes to him when she hurts, He always has a hug for her……..This is a Great DAD!
Thank you Barry for being the great Father that you are to our children. It’s mostly because of you that they are turning out so great. When I was going through difficult times you always found a way to make their lives a little better and for that I am forever grateful!

This is my Son! It’s his birthday today and he is 15! I know that all you mothers out there can relate to this when I say “my baby is growing up way to fast”. There are so many stories I could tell you about my boy, but I will just show you a picture……isn’t he the cutest little guy ever?
My Boy is turning into a Man and in lots of ways that makes me sad…..there are days I wish we could go back to the days of this picture…..but…….I am grateful for the man of God he is turning into. I knew early on in his life that God had a calling on his life……..He knows it too :o)), even though he fights it sometimes! I am so proud to be his Mom!
He has an amazing sense of humor, when he puts his mind to something he does amazing things(he made me a ring out of a stainless steal nut). He works hard in school and does his best in every class, each of his teachers made comments on his last report card about how respectful he is in class. He makes a point to be a friend to those who have no friends even if it means he gets picked on for it! I am thankful that God allowed me to be your Mom Brandon! I am so proud of the Man you are becoming!
What are you thankful for today?
For more Thankful post’s or to join in with us please visit Iris.
Thanks for joining me in this Thankful Thursday!

36 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. This is so beautiful ~ it brought tears to my eyes. You have some wonderful men in your life and what a perfectly touching way to share your thankfulness. Blessings!

  2. OH how I miss my daddy, there is a song that says just to have one last dance with my dad that is how I feel. love always me

  3. You have much to be thankful for and you honored them all in a beautiful way!! As always…I enjoyed the photos šŸ˜‰

  4. How beautiful! All of the men in your life sounds incredible!!! Be blessed today and give thanks.

  5. Thanks Crystal!
    You said it all , I live with the man and he is that and more! Dad and me sat and read it with tears in our eyes! I Love you children for how God has mold you. AMAZING WHAT GOD HAS DONE IN OUR FAMILY WE HAVE SO MUCH TO BE THANK-FUL FOR. THANK-YOU Crystal for who you are, you make me so proud. I AM SO PROUD OF OF MY GRANDCHILDREN! can’t wait to celebrate with you tomorrow..

  6. Ahh that was so beautiful….Your dad sounds like one amazing father figure….and your husband too! Happy Fathers Day to them…And Happy Birthday to your son……

    Blessings

  7. I just LOVE mushy posts!
    Wonderful tribute to the men in your life! And what a great looking son. It’s bittersweet to watch them grow up isn’t it?

  8. Our 15 year olds look a lot alike, isn’t that cool?

    Those guys sound wonderful!

  9. How precious!! Thank you for sharing your grateful heart for all of the wonderful men in your life. This post really touched me!! Have a great day!!

  10. Hi Crystal, I truly love your post today. Can I come to give Brandon his BIG birthday smooch tonight?

    Call me
    Darla

  11. What a wonderful thankful tribute to your dad, husband and son! Happy Birthday Brandon! I can so relate with you Crystal on the fact that they are growing up! My youngest will be 16 next month!

  12. Beautiful post! I think you must have made God’s heart very happy today by being thankful for the blessings He has given you.

  13. Crystal,

    Not sure my last comment took. Love your post. You are blessed. Loved your intro *grin*

  14. Three wonderful men to be thankful for! What a great post and Colin is in good company on his birthday!

  15. Oh, Crystal! That WAS bee-u-tee-full! I hope my Vikings turn out so close to DaHubby as well. And, thanks for stoppy by my bloggy home today and commenting!

  16. Hi that’s a lovely post. I hopped in here via a friend of a friend … you know via the comments … I loved your puppies vid – hope you don’t mind but I pasted it up in my Random Video Clips blog. Of course I gave your name and linkback! You’re welcome to drop by my place at any time gledwood2.blogspot – everything’s linked via the sidebar from there.
    All the best
    from
    Gledwood
    “vol 2” …

  17. Hi,

    I was touched by this post. You truly are blessed. Have an amazing weekend.

  18. Your words are beautiful…what a way to honor the men in your life. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    I LOVE sunflowers so I love your blog!

    Blessings to you and yours!

  19. What a sweet post….I loved reading it!!! Thanks for sharing what an awesome family you have!

  20. What a beautiful post — thank you for sharing a peace of your heart!

  21. This is such a sweet post Crystal. You are blessed to have such wonderful, Godly men in your life. They are each very special.

  22. Beautiful post….you’ve made me miss my daddy (he’s in heaven) and I SO relate to your thoughts about the birthday boy! I see the precious one-yr-old smile hidden in my 14 yr-old’s face, but I also see shades of the man he is becoming. How did the time FLY?!

  23. What a wonderful post. Happy bday to Brandon. Happy Father’s Day to 2 wonderful men in your life.

    Blessings.

  24. What a wonderful post!

    Thanks for sharing.

    ~Betty~

  25. What a wonderful tribute to the special men in your life this side of heaven šŸ™‚ – Happy belated birthday, Brandon. I hope you had a wonderful day and got many presents šŸ™‚

    You are right, kids grow up way to fast. Our son just turned 22 on Monday *sigh*. Oh where did the time go?
    Thank you so much for sharing your grateful heart with us this week.
    Be blessed today and always.

  26. Aw, what a great tribute to the men in your life! I love that pic with your son behind your back!

    Blessings~

  27. That’s a wonderful thankful post – very honoring to the men of your life as well šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

