The Ultimate Romance

I have a confession to make…..I have read romance novels since I was a teenager…I know…sigh…. it’s not something I am extremely proud of but they are the kind of books that can distract me long enough that my brain actually refocuses on something other than my latest obsession…..I need sleep and if I can’t shut my brain off…..well…..the results are not pretty soooo therefore I discovered that reading these books for awhile re-shifts my thinking so that I can sleep without planning my entire future in my dreams…..(I am sure that there are other people who know what I am talking about right?). Luckily in the last 10 years I have matured enough to make a decision that I only read Christian romance so that I am not filling my mind with allot of garbage…..for the most part now I read stuff that is really harmless, a good story to transport me to another world for a few hours……..(I do have a point I promise). The heroine in each story needs rescuing of sorts and along comes this man who changes her life forever…..you know the story I am sure….damsel in distress and along comes the knight in shining armor to save the day…..there are always obstacles to overcome but Love preservers……the man always comes after his woman….the woman always resists to some degree…….but his jealous love wins her over. It’s very fake but it’s what dreams are made of right ladies? A few months ago I decided to start reading the Bible over again……it’s been awhile since I’ve read it all and most of my focus was always on the new testament….and through different circumstances I’ve really felt like am missing something because my focus is only on the new testament……so as I have been reading through the old testament something really struck me………The entire old testament is a love story between God and His people, Israel. The rebellion from God’s love began in the garden and continues to this day. God relentlessly pursued Israel….she was His nation after all but how frustrating it must have been and probably continues to be for God in his pursuit of us. Israel constantly looked for other gods to replace the one true God……they disobey direct commands……..they saw miracles and still doubted God’s love for them…….they literally saw the reactions of a jealous God! It was stuff dreams are made of………and then I read these verses….

From Deuteronomy 6 (MSG)

5
Love God, your God, with your whole heart: love him with all that’s in you, love him with all you’ve got!
13-14
Deeply respect God, your God. Serve and worship him exclusively. Back up your promises with his name only. Don’t fool around with other gods, the gods of your neighbors, because God, your God, who is alive among you is a jealous God. Don’t provoke him, igniting his hot anger that would burn you right off the face of the Earth.

…………….And I was deeply convicted….He pursues me like this……..He is jealous over my heart and my attention……..and I give it to everything & everyone else instead of Him…….the one who LOVES ME UNCONDITIONALLY.
A wise friend of mine said to me a few years ago…….”God didn’t make us robots because He wanted us to love Him out of our free will……..and when we choose Him and fall in Love with Him…..that is when the God shaped vacuum in our life is finally filled……..cause only He can fill it….but we have to choose it………He never forces His way into our lives! He’s a true gentlemen….He never infringes on our right to choose”
The love I have here on earth with my husband is good but it’s not perfect….and it’s not unconditional……we are human and we fail………but this is the ultimate in romance Ladies and Gents……..He will continue to pursue us and He keeps knocking on the door of our lives & when we finally make a choice and let go of the rebellion that makes us think we don’t need Him…….and we turn to Him and open our hearts to His love…..that is when the ultimate in romance happens………because we’ve finally accepted it and stopping running from it.

We’ve finally surrendered to true LOVE!

11 thoughts on “The Ultimate Romance

  1. Wow, what a beautiful post my sweet friend. The ultimate romance is, and will forever be, between my God and me.

  2. We under estmate our Lord Jesus Christ! He Loves us so much and just to think it, that makes me feel pretty special. He over looks our faults while human man does not! I could learn from that! Great write up, I do not read romance books because it discourage me in my own life! I want to think the best of my partner and not get discourage when he does not do what others do! I try and dwell on the good of him and there is so much!

  3. What a beautiful illustrations. I love Christian romance books also. I love the way you were able to tie God’s love for his children into the plot of a lovestory.
    Thanks for sharing

  4. I love your transparent heart. You opening up so honestly has truly blessed me. Thanks for sharing….and o by the way I also try to ” plan ” my future in my dreams….sigh….but what control do I actually have over my future….zip, zero, nill.

    Blessings : )

  5. I’m guilty of being a romance reader too! and I switched to only Christian as well a few years ago for the same reasons!

  6. What a beautiful post! We are so blessed to be romanced by the perfect One! I am so thankful that He doesn’t give up on me, even wehn I turn away or try to push Him away. Thank you for bringing this into the light for me! I often think “Those stubborn Isrealites, couldn’t they see what God was doing for them?” But, hety…that’s ME!
    Blessings-
    Andie

  7. What a beautiful reflection on Scripture and His love. Thank you so much for sharing it.
    I really needed to read it this morning before heading off into the world 🙂
    Be blessed today and always.

  8. I have never been one to read romance novels…when I feel the need to turn the world off, a good mystery or psychological thriller does the trick for me…although I have enjoyed several historical romances from time to time. I enjoyed your analogy…well done!!!

Leave a Reply

