In Other Words – Just passing through!


“Lower your expectations of earth. This isn’t heaven, so don’t expect it to be.”

~ Max Lucado ~

This quote reminds me of an old southern gospel song my family use to sing together…..”This world is not my home”….The words go something like this;

This world is not my home, I’m just passing through.
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue.
The angels beckon me from Heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

O Lord you know I have no friend like you
If Heaven’s not my home, then Lord what will I do?
The angels beckon me from Heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

Words and Music by Albert E. Brumley
© 1965 – Albert E. Brumley & Sons
All Rights Reserved

Matthew 6:19-21(MSG) “Don’t hoard treasure down here where it gets eaten by moths and corroded by rust or—worse!—stolen by burglars. Stockpile treasure in heaven, where it’s safe from moth and rust and burglars. It’s obvious, isn’t it? The place where your treasure is, is the place you will most want to be, and end up being.

I think Matthew really captured it didn’t he? So where is your treasure?
The things of this earth will all decay someday, the boats, houses, cars……but if we invest all our time and energy into people, that is a treasure we take with us when we die….I am not saying that it’s wrong to have those things but if our lives are constantly consumed in the getting we lose sight of this fact….we all will die, sooner or later…..and we can’t take it with us!
Someday we will be accountable for what we did here on earth……..what we invested our time & money into……I really believe that!

Someone once said “We spend on average 80 years here on earth, which only prepares us for the next million in heaven”

This world…….it will never be the end destination, it is just a stopping place on our way to heaven to reign with Christ……..we are destined for something bigger and better, where there is no sin, no sadness, no suffering! I can hardly wait for that day……but in the mean time….I’d better get to work storing up some treasures in heaven…..

Thank you to Iris who is hosting IOW this week……please visit her and the others who are posting their viewpoints on this quote!
(As a small side note…check out the puppy video in my sidebar….they are oh so cute right now and for those who are interested, check out my latest post on what’s going on around here)

12 thoughts on “In Other Words – Just passing through!

  1. You are right, it is not wrong to have some things here on earth, but is should be our goal to take as many with us to heaven as possible.

    Thank you for your sharing your thoughts on this week’s IOW quote.

    The video is so neat. Thank you for sharing those little ones with us. The are the cutest I have seen in a while 🙂

    Be blessed today and always.

  2. Love that old hymn. Thank you for sharing and reminding me to consider where my treasure is. Blessings to you!

  3. Love the song you quoted. And I where your treasure are is where you heart is, is somthing the Lord has been showing me more and more.

    blessings.

  4. You are so right the heart is where are treasure is . Great post and I loved the scripture you quoted. Hope you all had a wonderful weekend. May the Lord bless you this week and always.

    Angel ( Angel Mama )

  5. “For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.” Ah, one of my all-time favorite verses. I like the way you related it to the quote for this week!

  6. Enjoyed your perspective on this quote. The reminder to lay up treasures was needed by me today!

  7. [it is just a stopping place on our way to heaven]

    What a great way to look at our time here on earth. My daughter and I have been learning about Augustine of Hippo, he thought this life was so horrible that it must be some kind of cosmic punishment. I wouldn’t go as far as Augustine did…

    Trying to keep my focus on heaven ~ Blessings

  8. We had the same verse in our thoughts – and the song is so appropriate. I am thankful we ARE just passing through. 🙂

    Blessings ~ Loni

  9. This reminds me of a quote I read “God designed us to be dissatisfied with anyone less than Him and any place less than Heaven.”

Leave a Reply

