Global Day of Prayer

Today I participated in a Prayer service that spanned the globe…..it started last night in New Zealand and goes until late tonight where Churches from every nation are gathered for a global day of prayer for our world. It was such a powerful service…the worship was amazing and I was moved by God’s presence in that place……but………it raised some questions in me. At this service…..all the churches in the city of Saskatoon were invited……and out of all those churches maybe 200 people showed up……..I looked around and my heart was heavy because this is the problem in North America today…………..Why do we hesitate to go to a service when it’s labeled a prayer service and yet we have no problem filling a stadium for a concert? What makes us choose to stay home as Christians and watch TV or go out with friends when there is a prayer service, cause I know I do it too? Cities in Africa filled an entire stadium and we could not fill and entire church………why don’t we want to pray? Why are we so apathetic & what will change my apathy? Imagine what we could do if we actually took our job as Christians seriously and prayed…….we could change the world……….I could change the world if only I took the time to stop and listen to God’s voice speaking to me………..I can only speak for me……..I have the power to changed my city……my town by my prayers and I refuse to do it……..in fact it doesn’t even occur to me that it’s important. I call myself a Christian and yet I have never seen someone raised from the dead………and yet it’s happening in China & Africa………miraculous signs & wonders are happening all over the world.
Today God convicted me of this ……… I need to learn to “Be still & know” that He is God……..I fill my life with stuff that keeps me so busy that I don’t take time to be quiet & just listen for His voice…..do I really pray?……..I know I say allot of stuff TO God……..but I never wait for the response. God is challenging me…..I challenge you………May 11, 2008……….Participate in the Global Day of Prayer wherever you are! Let’s make a commitment to change the world……unless of course you are to afraid to see what God will do? I really want to see what God will do in me……..I hope you do too! There is something powerful that happens when you know that churches right across the world are praying at the exact same time as you are praying…………and my commitment is that next year I will bring people with me to the day of prayer………

If you want to know more about the Global Day of Prayer please click HERE
Check out the blog created for the Saskatoon branch of the day of prayer
I am curious………did anyone else out there participate in a Global Day of Prayer Service?

3 thoughts on “Global Day of Prayer

  1. Amen, Crystal. I think that we don’t take the time for prayer, because we might have to wait for an answer from Him.
    Thank you for sharing from your heart.

    Be blessed today and always.

Leave a Reply

