I am – Pt 6 – West Side of the Wilderness


“Now Moses was pasturing the flock of Jethro his father-in-law,the priest of Midian; and he led the flock to the west side of the wilderness and came to Horeb, the mountain of God. The angel of the Lord appeared to him in a blazing fire from the midst of a bush; and he looked, and behold the bush was burning with fire, yet the bush was not consumed.” Exodus 3:1-2

Again this study has really shone a light on something that I really needed to hear…..let me quote Lisa again. “After God called to Moses, we find that he responded much like Abraham when he was asked to sacrifice Isaac. Whether in prosperity or pain, when God called the response was, “Here I am.” I pray that when my God comes looking for me that He doesn’t have to search for me in the bushes as He did Adam and Eve in the Garden. God did not call out because He didn’t know where they were. He wanted them to realize how far they had run from Him. It is a wise woman who constantly asks the question, “Where am I?” in her walk with the Father.”
This makes me feel allot better cause lately I have been asking allot of “Where am I’s” lately. The self doubt gets really tiring after awhile but I know it’s good to ask the questions…….
I have really come from a place of doubting to a place where God has continually been re-affirming me……not through people but by the “still small voice” as I have gone to Him to bring my concerns & doubts to Him and I’ve laid myself before Him going “Lord, I surrender all, empty me of me and fill me with you…..”!

1. How current is your God? Is he up to date on all your issues or do you have old hurts you still hold behind your back?

He’s up to date on all my issues…..

2. Has the enemy ever told you there are situations that are ‘old news’ that are better left stuffed down? Or perhaps because they were so long ago they can’t possibly be affecting you now?

In dealing with past issues I know this to be something that I experience allot cause I keep thinking I should be able to get past this……but until you confront the sin or deal with the issues they seem to keep coming up over and over again….

3. In the matter of established authority, does God truly reign in your life? Where are you when He calls your name?

This is a really good question because I have heard the same thing from someone else this week…..I believe that this is a journey not a destination, so often (like several times a day) I have to remind myself of who is in control…..often I know when He is calling my name I am distracted with petty little things that really don’t matter a whole lot……I am trying hard to be more focused on letting Him sit on the throne in my life……but I fail so often!

4. Do you ever feel God has forgotten you in your ‘west side of the wilderness’?

There have been times I definitely feel forgotten……..it’s really hard to be in the wilderness and feel alone……

5. Have you ever experienced a time of cleansing where God has illuminated and rejuvenated you? If not, do you find you are in need of this now?

I really feel in need of a getaway right now……….I know I felt this when I went to the Kansas City House of Prayer 3 years ago when I was going through a really difficult time and God really revealed Himself to me there…….up to that point I never really had felt His presence like I felt it there………it was like He had His hand on my shoulder……………and I have felt that a few time since then! Right now I just need to go and do some studying on my own away from the constant demands on my time…..I hope to get away after my CD project is done!

Thank you Lord for this Study and for constantly reminding me of who I am in You! I feel so Blessed that you allow me to call you my Father. I feel so Blessed that you care enough about me not to leave me where I am today but You continually call me to draw closer to You! I feel so Blessed by this community of Blogging Women who are all seeking you just like I am…….Lord you say in your word to seek You and You will be found so I pray for all the women participating in this study and all those who happen to stop by that they would continue to seek You and find You! Lord I really want to know the truth……..please continue to lead me and show me Your truth! Amen!

Thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog and visit me today……..Please take the time to click on the picture above to go to Lisa’s site and join in on the study for yourself……it’s an amazing study!

9 thoughts on “I am – Pt 6 – West Side of the Wilderness

  1. Hi there. I just visited via Amydeanne’s blog. I like the sunflowers. You have a very nice blog. You’re kids are adorable.

    I appreciated reading your honest answers. Bless you.

  2. Hi Crystal, loved what you shared in your number two answer. You hit it on the nail for me, believe it and am walking it out right now.

    Blessings To you today, and always!

  3. Hi Crystal, I believe God is calling you to a spacious place where He can meet face to face with you. It can be a moment in your garden or in your office, just allow Him to lead you. love always me

  4. I’ll be praying that you will find that time to rest and spend time with the Lord. I loved what you said about it being a process, thats definitely true! You’re such an encouragement to me. Have a blessed week.

  5. I so relate to being too busy and distracted that it drowns out that “still small voice” as I said in my responses, I even was to busy talking with God that I almost missed what He was trying to say to me. Thanks for sharing. You are on my prayer list Crystal!

  6. “but until you confront the sin or deal with the issues they seem to keep coming up over and over again….”

    Yes, He’s very patient while we learn those important lessons. I’ve also found him to be a God of repetition. And…he knows I need it. 🙂

  7. “I believe that this is a journey not a destination, so often (like several times a day) I have to remind myself of who is in control…”
    I love that!!! I am constantly having to resubmit myself to His will and His authority. He is the King, but just because I desire for Him to be on the throne of my life, doesn’t mean that in my ignorance that I always allow Him to sit there!! Thanks for that wonderful perspective!

  8. WOW! Great answers. God Bless YOU!!!

    I can’t find a link to do this lesson. Where did you find this at?

Leave a Reply

