I am – Pt. 4

Key Verse:
This Moses whom they disowned saying, ‘Who made you a ruler and a judge?’ is the one whom God sent to be both a ruler and a deliverer with the help of the angel who appeared to him in the thorn bush.” Acts 7:35 NASB

I really liked what Lisa had to say and I am just going to copy it because again it’s a huge ahha moment for me! It’s not like I didn’t know it before but I just didn’t “get it”. Sometimes I wish I didn’t have such a thick skull!

“Sisters, when things do not work out like we planned, when the diagnosis is not what we wanted, when the child is in trouble, when the bills are not paid, when the job is just too stressful, when the loved one continues to reject the Lord, the only way we can endure is following hard after the One who is Unseen. Trust in the One who is refining and preparing you to either be delivered or to be a deliverer. On any given day, you will always fall on one side of that line or the other. No matter which it is on this day, the only way to endure is by Faith.” This is something I really needed to hear….thanks Lisa!

Discussion Questions:

1. I am going to present to you a little acrostic to begin our discussion today. What is your latest NLIP? (Not Like I Planned?)

Wow well, many of you know about my NLIP moment when I hit a brick wall in pursuing what I believe to be my calling. I have to say it hit me pretty hard because part of having a calling is having someone confirm your calling…..I was not sure if I was really called at all…….and even though I am still doubting myself somewhat………..I have been affirmed by those close to me and from women within Women’s Encounter every time I sing…..and so what I hit a brick wall……a closed door….it just means I need to turn around and look around for the open window…..while my faith & trust in people was shattered my trust in the God who loves me remains strong…..God will use this experience too…..to make me stronger…..a better leader…….He knows what I am going through!

2. How did you react to your NLIP? Are you still upset about it? Happy about it? Baffled by it? Explain.

I am still hurting….it’s painful when you feel betrayed……but I am working through it! I am trying not to over analyze it like I usually do. I am still wondering what God is up to……sometimes I wish He would speak audibly to me so that I would not doubt hearing Him when I feel like He does speak to me.

3. Have you ever attempted to step into an area of ministry and found your desire rejected? Did this cause you to question God and yourself? Perhaps distrust what you perceived to be your calling?

Y E S……see my above answer…….right now I am just praying through it and letting God have my dream…….I am starting to think that what I believe to be my calling and what He wants for me are two entirely different things and maybe I am just thinking on to small of a scale….or to big of a scale for that matter.

4. Do you harbor any bitterness towards any individual or situation which you believe waylaid your best laid plans?

No I can honestly say I am not bitter……still hurting ……..not bitter or angry

5. Have you had a life experience or trial that left you with a shaken faith because it ended in an NLIP? Please share if you feel free.

A few years ago I was running a home based business and through different circumstances which I won’t go into here we lost allot of money……..in fact my whole business fell apart….this was going to be my retirement cushion and within 1 month it was all gone…….I really had a crisis of faith at that time and was very close to a nervous breakdown…..God revealed to me that He had different plans for me and I was so consumed by succeeding that I was not focusing on Him. It was a very hard lesson to learn………

6. Based on Moses’ response of faith to his own rejection, how will you re-evaluate your own experiences or look at future ones differently if a NLIP presents itself?

I am learning that through every circumstance God is shaping me and molding me into the Woman of Character & Integrity that He wants me to be……..I have to learn to trust His timing and not my own…..I have to learn to trust Him and not people…….people will always fail us but God never does! It’s releasing this control I so desperately want to hold onto and letting Him hold my dreams and fears……it’s a very scary place to be but also very exciting because I feel like I am on a precipice just about over the top of a very large mountain and I just can’t see yet the beauty that is on the other side if I just hang on and keep moving ahead.

Thank you Lisa for all your hard work on this study…..it’s funny how this came along “just in time” to help me work through this particular situation in my life!

3 thoughts on “I am – Pt. 4

  1. I am sorry for the pain you are experiencing from feeling betrayed! I will pray for you.3
    Keep trusting Him!

  2. I appreciate your transparency as well. My husband and I lost a lot of money after the September 11 tragedy. He lost his job; the stock market went down considerably; and we went through our savings account in the two years he was without work. I could really relate to your pain about losing your retirement. Sometimes it is difficult to understand God’s ways. Our only comfort was knowing that this news didn’t come as a shock to God. He knew we weren’t going to be able to use this money for our retirement. Aha.. this means he has another plan for us. God bless you dear sister.

Leave a Reply

