In Other Words – Deeply Flawed

“What makes life on this frightful sod so exquisite is God’s merciful propensity to perform divine tasks amid deeply flawed people.”~Beth Moore, on her Blog The LPM Blog

I’ve been criticised for being to honest…….especially here on my blog….I was going to take a break from blogging because of it and re-think my purpose for blogging…..and for a moment I doubted myself and some of the content of some of my posts….and I read back on some of the things I have posted about my struggles and while I was doing that I remembered a story I once was told at Breakforth in January about why the teenage suicide rates, especially in Christian circles is so high……because teenagers feel like the church & the people in the church don’t want to “hear” them unless things look perfect on the outside. But the reality is that life is not so perfect…..in fact it’s really hard…..so these teenagers think there is something wrong with them because their life is hard and they never hear about life being hard in the church or even from their parents…..there is always this illusion of things just being peachy……so they think that they are the only ones that have problems, deep spiritual problems…….and the only answer for some of them it seems is to take their own life. This again sparked a passion in me for one of the reasons I post what I post……I want people(specifically my kids) to know that real people struggle, in life, in marriage……life is just plain hard sometimes……and I refuse to be one of those people who will sugar coat things just so people only see the “put together” side of me…….I am flawed….deeply flawed! I fail consistantly at being the wife and mother, daughter, sister & friend that God has called me to be but……my opinion is that if I want to attract people to Jesus, they need to see the flaws so that they can see the miracle He performs everytime I serve Him and He is able to use me. It is a miracle…..that He can use me….I am humbled that He still chooses to when I fail Him so much! I agree with Paul when he says in Romans 8:24 -“What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death?”

Please visit our host Laurel and visit all the other people who chose to participate in this week’s IOW. You won’t regret it!

Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “In Other Words – Deeply Flawed

  1. Oh I loved your words. And if I had to select who to be friends I would want someone who does not sugar coat things, who lets me see the real her (imperfections an all), for I could not relate to a perfect “put together person” =))

    Thank you so much for sharing your heart. And I agree about the Christian teenagers 100%

  2. Amen! Thank you for your authenticity! The only way we will bring new people to Christ is if we are authentic and they aren’t intimidated by perceived perfectionism.

  3. YES! We need people who are real and human not pretending to have it all together. I am intimidated by those who have it all together–I learn from fellow-struglers. Thank you!

  4. I totally agree! Early in my walk I believed the lie that because everything looked so perfect on the outside, it must be so and I wasn’t so what was wrong with me! Keep telling it like it is sista!!
    I for one appreciate your honesty!

  5. Oh, Cyrstal – I so totally agree with you. I always thought that there was something wrong with me (at first), but there is really not. I think there is something wrong with people how say they don’t have struggles. I do have to say that I do seem to have ‘easier’ seasons, but than everything hits at onces…

    Thank you so much for sharing your heart — and please do not stop blogging. You have so much to share.

    Blessings to you and yours.

  6. This is a little delayed but I only read your post today, so what can I say. I appreciate very much that you are honest and that you choose to be real. Alex and I have said many times in the last few weeks that we wished so much that someone would have told us about all the problems that we would have. Everyone just told us the good stuff about marriage and we were not prepared for what was to come. God calls us to be real and don´t ever change because someone thinks you shouldn´t be so open. You are helping people by being real, at least you have been a help to me!

  7. Awesome! I’m putting this on my sidebar as a featured post.

    God will use you Crystal. He wants people to know that we come as we are to Jesus. We don’t wait until we’re all prettied up and clean. Furthermore, after we’ve come to Him it’s a process and life has its triumphs and tragedies each bringing us closer to Him. Yes, we all have failed and have faults, but being real with Jesus is the best thing we can do, as our lives are a witness to His transforming power and love.

    Blessings….

    PS Continue blogging you’re making a difference!

    “Pearls of wisdom…a heavenly voice.”
    http://avoicetobeheard.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

