40 Years ago today…..

Today is my Birthday……and you know I always have said that I never want to be one of those women who tries to hide their age…..I want to look younger yes but I don’t want to be one of those women who dread getting older…….this week my famous statement as been “It is what it is”….there is no hiding from it……I am 40. So since I am considered older now…..I will share some of my wisdom with you……

  • never ever walk into my Dad’s barn with all his cows without knowing where all the gutters are……just about every new person my Dad has hired at the farm has fallen into a gutter full of manure at least once……..and no manure does not make your skin glow…….trust me I should know!
  • Climbing to the top of a 90 foot silo does not cure you of your fear of heights no matter how hard you try.
  • Don’t wait to make a list of things you want to do in your life until you are 40…..I really wish I would have done it allot sooner.
  • Stats are pretty high that even if I did lose the weight I want to lose and look amazing for a short period of time……I would gain back all that weight plus an extra 50 or so…….so I have stopped trying to lose weight……I can’t afford to get any heavier!
  • Stop and smell the roses……..life is to short to be rushing around and wasting half of it on something that counts for nothing in the end.
  • My kids do not need to be in every sport and every music lesson to be well rounded children…….sure they are in a couple of things they love, but, I refuse to burn them out so that I know I accomplished something with them. They need to be kids and I need to let them be kids!
  • Make sure you have a good bed to sleep on because sleep is essential to healing and keeping your body healthy………I love my bed…..
  • Make sure that you always treat every stranger with respect….you never know when that person turns out to be someone who needed to be respected that day.
  • Laugh as much as possible…..Play as many practical jokes as you can……Laugh when someone pulls a practice joke on you….it means they love you!
  • Surround yourself with people who love you and tell you they love you……it’s the definition of happiness…..

“God give me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference”…..isn’t that the challenge?

Wish you could join the party? I wish you could be here too…..we are having a blast!

11 thoughts on “40 Years ago today…..

  1. Woo Hoo, wish I could be there, party time!! Happy Birthday sweet one, and remember age is just a number. Turn it around, 04, you are just a baby!! lol

  2. HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! πŸ™‚
    though i get to say it in person today too! πŸ™‚ i know 40 will look great on you! i’m very blessed to be your friend!
    love ya!!!

  3. Happy Birthday Crystal! You youngster you! I enjoy getting older, I just don’t like how it looks! LOL Loved your wisdom.

  4. Happy birtday.
    I just got a chance to visit your blog through Sting my heart.

  5. I hope you had a fantastic birthday Crystal! You deserve it! πŸ™‚
    I’ll have to remember the manure next time I go to my inlaws barn… I try to stay out as much as possible lol

  6. happy birthday Crystal. I pray that God would give you the hope and grace to continue walking out the things He’s called you to. Be blessed today, He is always good.
    “For faith is being sure of what we hope for, and certain of what we do not see”. May you be encouraged that the GOD IN YOU is able to do the things you think are impossible. Apart from Him we can do nothing.

  7. Happy Belated Birthday!

    I really like your list. A few speak to me, fear of heights, and a good bed.

    My favorite is the putting kids in everything. It’s so easy to be sucked into that mentality!

    “Pearls of wisdom…a heavenly voice.”
    http://avoicetobeheard.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

