Beautiful To God


“It was at this time that Moses was born; and he was lovely in the sight of God, and he was nurtured three months in his father’s home.” Acts 7:20 NASB

“He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to him, nothing in his appearance that we should desire him. He was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows and familiar with suffering. Like one from whom men hide their faces he was despised, and we esteemed him not.” Isaiah 53:2-3 NIV

“For the Lord takes pleasure in His people; He will beautify the afflicted ones with salvation.” Psalm 149:4


Some of the statements Lisa made in the study really struck me……let me quote her cause I won’t do a good job of describing it on my own.
Let this passage be the seed that grows this radical idea in you, “Jesus became ugly, therefore I am not. What draws people to me will be His Spirit, not an outward attractiveness.” The Jews counted Jesus as nothing because when they looked on Him, all they saw was one afflicted. Surely He must have been stricken of God instead of sent by Him. Practically speaking, we are still ‘esteeming Him not’ today by continuing the beating that He has already taken. Some examples of how we do this are: Negative self-talk when we look in the mirror or step on the scale, mentally abusing our own intelligence, nurturing toxic relationships, and engaging in self-destructive behavior are but a few. Remember, thinking lowly of ones self is still thinking of oneself more than God. Reverse pride is still pride and the most dangerous form of idolatry. Ask God to reveal areas in your thought life where He is not being esteemed. If you do not esteem yourself, you are not esteeming Him.” Wow that is so powerful……..

  • What is your initial response when anyone suggests you are beautiful?
Well to be honest…I can’t remember allot of people telling me that I am beautiful…my husband does obviously but he has to say those things :o))..I am sure it happens but I am sure I just shrug it off because I don’t believe them……..
  • Do you find you engage in a lot of negative ‘self-talk’? How much of your thought life does this form of thinking consume?

I know that I use to engage in allot of negative self talk…..I don’t think it’s as bad as it use to be because I am learning to love myself a little bit at a time…..but the last few weeks have been bad…..it’s easy to fall back into bad patterns of thinking if you let yourself go.

  • Has it ever occurred to you that you are a City Girl? How do you plan to use this knowledge?

You know I have never thought of it that way before…the fact that Jesus took all our sin and ugliness and that we are beautiful because of Him…..that is just a huge powerful thought for me and I think it will take me some time to fully process it all but I believe that it will give me more confidence in the decisions that I make……I hope my countenance shows that I am a believer, I know often it doesn’t because I am so bogged down by my own sin…..but today I am working on showing my true beauty. That’s all we can do right? Work on changing things one day at a time!

  • In what ways has your view of Godly beauty changed as a result of these Scriptures?

Well Godly beauty is not something that is put on…..it’s real and comes from the inside. It’s also a relief to know that because then I won’t work so hard to put my face on everyday. :o))! Godly beauty goes far deeper that the outside appearances……and you know I am guilty of looking at outward beauty verses inward beauty……I want people to think I am good looking and I want people around me that are good looking but I think this really has affirmed to me to look deeper than that, even within myself………I know I struggle with pride and it’s something I have to constantly look to God to help keep me in check…….

This study has really boosted my spirits today………How grateful I am that Jesus took my sin and ugliness to the cross and I don’t have to carry it anymore! Thank you Lord!

4 thoughts on “Beautiful To God

  1. Your responses were so moving…You sound like you are processing these Scriptures in much the same way I did when I first heard them. You were so right to say we strive to do a little better day by day. This concept isn’t a one day lesson, it is a daily renewal of the mind.

    Bless you Dear One!! I am so glad you are a part of our group!!

  2. Hi Crystal! I just started the I AM Bible study an wanted to meet some of the other ladies involved with that. I enjoyed reading your responses and love that you’re honest about the understanding this concept being a process and not something that happens overnight! I hope your week goes well.
    ~Amy

  3. So true about Godly beauty vs outward beauty. Its an issue I struggle with as well. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

