In Other Words – Perseverance

Advisory – Honesty to follow!

“By perseverance the snail reached the ark.”
~ Charles Spurgeon ~

The definition of perseverance, from a dictionary: “Persisting in or remaining constant to a purpose, idea or task in spite of obstacles.” Given that definition, you can see that perseverance can clearly be a both a good thing and a bad thing. In the snail case it was a good thing I would imagine……for me well I am not so sure anymore. The last few weeks have really challenged my thinking about my perserverance. I have always been someone who doesn’t give up on anything easily but I am starting to think I need to learn to give up a little easier when I keep banging my head against the same wall. I’ve really been struggling with that hopeless feeling that kind of takes over when a dream/calling begins to die and maybe it needs to die so God can reveal Himself to me, and the words that I feel like my heavenly Father keeps telling me is “Surrender”. Give it to me……everything….all your hopes & dreams……and I don’t know about you but I really struggle with that…….I’ve been called selfish & arrogant……and maybe I am….it really hurts to acknowledge the fact that I am more than likely just a really big spoiled brat. In my defense though (not that I really should have one) I really do feel like God was calling me….but I think I put my own definition to the calling and the twists and turns of life took over from there. So where do I go from here? I am trying really hard not to figure it out but to surrender as my Father is asking me to do…….so that is where I am today…..sorry I can’t be inspirational and give you some great story to make you feel good that you visited me here today….this is a hard place for me to be…..please bear with me!

These verses come to mind when I think of what God is expecting of me…..

1 Corinthians 9:24-27
Don’t you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win! All athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing. I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified.

2 Timothy 4:7-8
I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

Now I don’t care much about what people think of me……but’s its a really big deal for me about what God thinks of me…….that in the end……when I stand before Him…..He says that I ran the race good…….and hopefully one of these days I will get it right……

Thanks for visiting me today……for more people’s view on this quote please visit Iris @ Sting my Heart.

10 thoughts on “In Other Words – Perseverance

  1. Just wanted to let you know that you’re not alone in banging your head against the wall …

  2. Crystal, I thank you for your honesty. I have been so blessed not only by what you have to share, but with what others have to share as well and God has spoken to me through so much of what others risk in sharing. Don’t apologize for sharing where you are in your life! Quite honestly, I wish He had told me to give up, it would have been much easier. I’m praying for you!

  3. honest and so true Crystal! I always think how I’ve failed in the worst tests of life, but am learning that God is there to pick me up and show me he really does care.
    God bless my friend!

  4. What a blessing. I praise God for your honesty and ability to share in a season of unknowns and many questions.

    God is near and reaching for you. He will never abandon you.

    It seems all too familiar to me, your process at that moment. It is possible to be a place in our walk where we remain obedient without full understanding of His work in us, through us, and for us.

    Be ever mindful of the spirit, which nudges you in the direction of glorifying Him no matter where that leads.

    I pray that in the coming days your burden will lift and God will continue to surround with love and compassion for such a time as this.

    Remain faithful to Him as He is in the midst, and working it out. I look forward to hearing your praise report in the coming months as you are still and wait on God.

    Praying that you feel His comfort even in the rain. Glory! Lift up your arms and praise Him for what He’s about to do in you!

    “Pearls of wisdom…a heavenly voice.”
    http://avoicetobeheard.blogspot.com/

  5. I think that it takes perseverance to surrender as well – to keep giving up the same old habits and dreams to God every time. I pray that you may finish the race well.

    God Bless

  6. Dear Crystal,
    I enjoyed your post and your honesty as I have been there.May you be blessed this week and always as you discover what God wants you to do.

    Hugs,

    Angel ( Angel Mama Pearls of Wisdom)

  7. I think, no matter how we feel, we always can share some insights that might be beneficial to others. Yes, we sometimes have to give up or surrender it all before God can work within us. Believe me, I had some might dreams about ministry, but He has changed the path completely.

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this week’s IOW quote, Crystal. It is always a blessing to read your takes.

    Blessings to you and yours.

  8. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. I know exactly what you mean about surrender. Sometimes it’s hard to surrender our hopes and our dreams to God but life is so much easier when we do, especially when he’s the giver of dreams.
    God bless

Leave a Reply

