Busyness

Busyness is not a Spiritual Gift

~Lisa Harper~

I am a creature of habit….from as long as I could remember I resist busyness….not to say that I am not busy because I am……I just dislike it! I like to be a home just puttering around…..no agenda….no schedule….no pressure…..just me and the dogs & the garden when I had one, but life is not that kind and I find myself organizing my days to accomplish all the tasks I have to complete…..Luckily I only have 2 kids because I would not know what to do if I had more and had to keep up with their schedules too. Long ago I learn’t (the hard way) that I could not do everything(I know, I know I can hear your ‘gasps’ from here). Sometimes we need to ask for help….I have a really hard time with that! I don’t like to admit that sometimes I must say no or ask someone to help me but I am so lucky that my Mom lives only minutes away from me because if there is stuff that needs to get done with the kids or at my house and I am unable to do it she comes out and helps me…..I love that about my Mom….

Life is about balance…….The balancing act at our home is becoming more manageble now that I am learning to say “no” to the things that drain me of joy, and say “yes” to the things that build me up and that give me so much joy…….working within my strengths! For example, when I am asked to sing at an event I always will say yes as long as my schedule allows because being able to minister with my voice even though it may make me busier for a time, renews my joy and brings a spring to my step, it affirms me and builds me up and makes me a better wife and mother & even a better daughter & sister sometimes. Using what God has given me as gifts brings me back to the story of the talents

Matt 25

14 “Again, it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted his property to them.

15 To one he gave five talents[a] of money, to another two talents, and to another one talent, each according to his ability. Then he went on his journey.

16 The man who had received the five talents went at once and put his money to work and gained five more.

17So also, the one with the two talents gained two more. 18But the man who had received the one talent went off, dug a hole in the ground and hid his master’s money.

19″After a long time the master of those servants returned and settled accounts with them.

20 The man who had received the five talents brought the other five. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with five talents. See, I have gained five more.’

21″His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

22″The man with the two talents also came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with two talents; see, I have gained two more.’

23″His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

24″Then the man who had received the one talent came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘I knew that you are a hard man, harvesting where you have not sown and gathering where you have not scattered seed.

25 So I was afraid and went out and hid your talent in the ground. See, here is what belongs to you.’
26 “His master replied, ‘You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I have not sown and gather where I have not scattered seed?

27 Well then, you should have put my money on deposit with the bankers, so that when I returned I would have received it back with interest.
28″ ‘Take the talent from him and give it to the one who has the ten talents.

29 For everyone who has will be given more, and he will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what he has will be taken from him.

30 And throw that worthless servant outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’

This is what these verses say to me……if we are not using the talents God has given us….wasting our gifts and are caught up in meaningless busyness….God can and will take them away from us and give them to someone who will use them….Busyness is not a spiritual gift but it is a product of our society and we need to guard against the meaningless busyness that stop’s the work of Christ.

That’s my take on this week’s quote please visit Christine @ Fruit in Season

Thanks for visiting me this week!

I was going to take a blogging break but am finding myself in need of your support and encouragement…..I am going through the refining fires so please pray for me!

7 thoughts on “Busyness

  1. Great take on the quote Crystal! How true that we need to balance our lives…

    I”m glad you are still around! And you know, it’s okay to take a break every once in a while! We all need it. Try http://www.comfortcafe.com I really enjoy that site!

  2. I hate “busyness” too–my poor hubby seems to be stricken with it worse than most! I long for the slower days of summer–not too much longer. I enjoyed reading your thoughts on the subject!

  3. Keeping things that increase your joy instead of drain your joy- that is a key statement. Doing for the sake of doing doesn’t please God, but doing what He asks of us with a joyful heart makes Him proud of us! I’ll be praying for you as you are refined! Here’s hoping you’ll continue to reflect Him more and more clearly!

  4. I’ve just prayed for you. This post really hit home with me. I’ve been going through this myself, only I was calling mine “brain fog” blaming it on my lupus. I had to Google “refining fires” as I had never heard this before, at least in those words. Now I know exactly what it means. I’ll keep you in my prayers. *hugs*

  5. What a wonderful take on this week’s quote, Crystal :)…
    I like what yous said about meaningless busyness. It is so true. Sometimes we keep busy with things that keep us down.
    How awesome that your mom lives that close – I wish mine would…

    Blessings to you and yours.

  6. Balance seems to be a thread running through many of this week’s posts. Thank you for sharing. It is a always a blessing to me.

Leave a Reply

