Recipe handed down from my Mom, and her Mom…

Here is one of my favorite recipe’s handed down from my Mom & probably as far as my grandmother, I love this soup and it’s really easy to make too….I come from good Mennonite blood so this is a good old fashioned recipe for Chicken Noodle Soup. This is an old fashioned cure for a cold and flu….I’m not quite sure if it works but it sure taste’s good when you are sick.

Ingredients

1 small chicken(3-5 pounds)
1 Cinnamon stick
Bay leaf
1 large onion, chopped
1 tbsp of butter
2 tbsp of salt (or to taste)
2kg bag of egg noodles
(optional, I like to add some frozen mixed veggies at the end)
(optional, chicken stock to taste)
(Spices for a soup spice holder or put them inside of cheesecloth and tie tightly)
Parsley
Peppercorns
Anise seed

Place the chicken in a large soup pot and fill 3/4 full with water. Boil chicken for 1 hour on a slow boil. Cut up the onion and add the spices (in spice holder or cheesecloth) while the chicken is boiling. When the chicken is done boiling you can take out the chicken and cut it up and add the chicken back into the soup or serve it separate from the soup. Spoon out the unwanted film at the top of the pot and add the butter and salt and if you want you can even add a bit of chicken stock to add more flavor. Leave the spice bag in the pot to give extra flavor as the soup sits……let simmer until you are ready to serve. Take out the cinnamon stick & bay leaf and the spice container whenever you are ready to serve.
Add optional veggies 20 minutes before you are ready to serve. Cook the noodles in a separate pot and mix the chicken broth & noodles in a separate pot or bowl to serve. When storing leftovers, make sure you strain the noodles, veggies & chicken out of the broth. Store the broth in jars and put in the fridge for future use…you can even freeze it if you put it in plastic containers.
This is a great thing to bring to a friends or neighbors house if you know they are sick or they are new to the neighborhood.

All the ingredients are hand measured so I am sorry I can’t be more precise but this is how I got the recipe and I just played with it until I got the flavor just right…..it’s really impossible to mess up this recipe………Enjoy!

This article is my submission to the blog challenge sponsored by Bonnie, CWO’s monthly columnist for Bonnie’s Kitchen.

2 thoughts on “Recipe handed down from my Mom, and her Mom…

Leave a Reply

