Burning Question

I’ve been reading the book of Genesis again this week and I just finished reading about Noah…..now there is allot of talk about what Noah did…how he was faithful….but what I would like to know is what his wife thought of the idea? I mean the fact that she was not mentioned in scripture….does that mean she was submissive and just went with what her husband thought…..or was she a real nag and question every move he made so that is why she was not mentioned……I know she was on the boat with her family so was it like…..oh oh…..he was right……I better get on the boat or was she constantly supportive? I am doing a study of the women in the Bible and she was not mentioned at all except to give her name…..I mean it’s kind of an important story in the Bible……and frankly…..this question has been burning in my thoughts all week!
What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Burning Question

  1. I think this is an interesting question…I was here earlier and came back to see if someone answered it. I am going to send Janna over here from Bread Crumbs…she would have an answer šŸ˜‰

  2. When I was little I would read these weird cartoon-y type tracks and they portrayed Noah’s wife as a nagger with curlers in her hair and a green mud-mask on her face. I always thought it was wierd that she still got to go in the boat. I guess I never thought about anything else and that thought has been with me ever since. I do wish the Bible would have mentioned SOMEthing.

  3. hmmm….Good question! I will be back later to see if anyone knows the answer.

    Linda

  4. Hi Crystal. Danielle sent me over here with a try at an answer to your “burning” question. The “pressure” is on! šŸ˜‰

    I like your questioning mind! šŸ™‚ Here’s what I would come back to:

    1) Remember that God has everything in His Word for a reason. And He has left some things out for a reason too.

    2) Don’t read more into the text than the text actually says for a historical/literal interpretation. If it were me, I would just assume that since God didn’t include more details, that she wasn’t what God wanted us to focus on. After all, there are lots of other stories about submission. Your guess is as good as mine as to her attitude! šŸ™‚

    3)For a inspirational (personal) application, maybe we could glean that our husbands are our protection (Hebrews 13:17). After all, because Noah listened to God, his whole family was saved from the flood.

    I don’t know if this helped or not. You’ve asked an intriguing question! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

