In Other Words – Choices

“Every time you make a choice you are turning the central part of you, the part of you that chooses, into something a little different from what it was before… either into a creature that is in harmony with God, …or into one that is in a state of war with God. Each of us at each moment is progressing to the one state or the other.”
~ C.S. Lewis ~
Mere Christianity

There are so many days I wonder what God is up to because the challenges I have face have seemed unsurmountable…..even today I face a giant……and I failed…..’sigh’……The giant in my life is pride….and then God has to knock me down a peg or two…..and remind me that I am nothing without Him……I am so humbled that He continues to teach me even when I fail Him…….my entire life story could be written about the pride in my life……..me thinking that “at least I am not as bad as they are”, but in fact am worse……….this is my journey………..God is ripping at the edges of my pride …..taking me to places I would have never though 5 or even 10 years ago I would be….all that He has taken away is…….well garbage……some of it I can’t believe I clinged to for as long as I did. I don’t like the person I was……I still don’t like things about myself…….but God is showing be that He loves me……even with the broken pieces…..He is slowly showing Himself as the puzzle master and I am a work of art that will take some time to cure……..each day I am learning to make the choices that continue to shine me into a sparkling diamond…..I’m not there yet……I still make stupid choices…..I am so stubborn sometimes…..but God continues to pick me up and point me back in the right direction…..My desire…

Refiner’s Fire
Brian Doerksen

Purify my heart, let me be as gold

And precious silver
Purify my heart, let me be as gold
pure gold
Refiner’s fire, my heart’s one desire
Is to be holy, set apart for You Lord
I choose to be holy
Set apart for You my Master
Ready to do Your will
Purify my heart, cleanse me from within
And make me holy
Purify my heart, cleanse me from my sin
Deep within

Brian Doerksen
1990 Mercy/Vineyard Publishing
CCLI Song No. 426298


The Words to the song says it all………”I choose to be, HOLY, set apart for you my Master, ready to do your will”……as long as that is my goal I am quite sure my choice to submit my will for his will continue to purify me and make me holy……..it’s a gradual journey…..it can’t be accomplished in one day……Thanks for listening to my take on this great quote…..
For more on this weeks quote please visit our host Christine @ Fruit in Season

15 thoughts on “In Other Words – Choices

  1. Thank you for sharing so honestly and openly. Yes, God is not done with us, and piecing our broken pieces back together to glorify Him! 🙂

  2. I know that I am a constant work in progress. Some days are harder than others to be refined by Him. But I am choosing to let Him have His way.

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this quote, Crystal. Hope you are doing well with your CD project.

    Blessings to you and yours.

  3. Love that song! The choice is to be holy. Thank you for sharing and always being so open. It encourages me so much.

  4. We’re all works yet to be finished. Pride is a biggie for me sometimes too.

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  5. The first step is admitting that we are nothing without Christ. You are right that God loves you. He loves you just the way you are but he is glad you are striving to change things in your life. Keep looking to him and surrendering things daily up to him. Thanks for being honest.
    Oh Janet looked amazing this weekend. I’ll post a pic soon.

  6. When God is working on something big in my life (and I’m feeling it big time), I call it my ring o’ fire. At times I feel blessed that He wants to work on something specific to me (how personal!) then others I encourage Him to find something to fill His time. But He never gives up, does He? Lucky us.

  7. Great connection between the song and this week’s quote! I have never heard that one but I will need to check it out!

  8. I have always admired your perseverance!! you just keep going and going and not giving up, even though you fail and we all do….
    it’s not about the failing, it’s about the perseverance of not giving up. that’s what makes the most beautiful diamonds!! and you are getting pretty shiny

  9. I, too, can relate to the pride issue. There are parts of me that aren’t there anymore and I’m so glad. However, there’s plenty of work left to do. Thanks for sharing the words to the song. I’ll have to look for that.

    On another note…I see you have a pug. We do, too! Aren’t they great snugglers?!

  10. I have always loved the image of the refiner’s fire. I want all those impurities taken out even as I wince at the pain it takes to get me there!

    Your struggle with pride is one that many (including me!) share.

  11. where I was 5 or 10 years ago.. I’d never guess it was here either.. how true… and it was all garbage.. it is amazing how God takes our garbage and turns us into something beautiful.
    Wonderful and touching post Crystal!

  12. Oh, this was wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing this! I have no doubt you will come through the “refiner’s fire” as gold. As Beth Moore says, these trials (“fires” )”burn the fake right out of us.” Boy, have I been there. Loved your post today.

  13. “There are so many days I wonder what God is up to.” It just keeps it exciting, huh? No one ever said following Christ was dull. Thanks for a wonderful post. Very thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

