A Conversation with Teens

My friend and I decided to go out for coffee on Wednesday while our kids where at Youth…..so as we are driving into the city the teens…..I will call them teen 1, teen 2, & teen 3…….where chattering in the back seat….not a significant conversation…..just teens blabbing on about “stuff”.
So we dropped them off at the church and proceeded out on our night out…..we had a great time just chatting about life in general….our kids…our husbands……you know just life stuff! So the time came where we should go to pick them up…..9 p.m. is usually when they are done…..so we are waiting, waiting……waiting…….yawning…..waiting….yawning……waiting …… teen 1 pops his head out the door to let us know that they are just beginning and they will be awhile…….hmmm…..we are a little peaved but whatever we just sit and chat some more…..the yawning is becoming contagious……the conversation seems to lag a bit as we both are wishing we could be in bed at this time(a sure sign that we are not young anymore)…… 9:40 rolls around and finally we see our teens sauntering out to the car……you know….. like they have all the time in the world…..teen 1 & 2 are excited about the upcoming winter youth retreat they are going on this weekend and just start talking about anything and everything…..teen 1 says casually “Greg says that we can’t bring our drugs, alcohol or cell phones on this trip”…….ok……so we are kind of interested in that statment cause it’s not like we stock MJ or booze at our homes ……. and it was really interesting how the cell phone got bunched into that list so casually…….anyways so teen 3 says kind of sarcastically, “do you have that kind of stuff to bring along?” to which teen 1 replies “no of course not, but I think I am going to ask Greg if I can bring my cell phone!” to which teen 2 replies “you can’t bring your cell phone!” and teen 1 says “but I can’t be without my cell phone” to which my friend replies “you will give me your cell phone before you leave” and then teen 1 says “I will hide it in my room” to which my friend replies “no you will give it to me so that I know you have left it”…….to which teen 1 says “I will hide it so my brother can’t use it this weekend” to which my friend replies “your brother is going too, remember?” to which teen 1 says “oh yeah….(pause)…I’m going to text Greg & ask him if I can bring my cell phone”…..and the whole conversation begins again……..until he finally gets tired of justifying why he needs his cell phone…….a few minutes pass and teen1 says again rather casually “did you know I have an extra hole in my butt?” ……..we all burst out laughing……I just couldn’t leave that one alone “really” I replied “How did you discover that?” …….. “I felt it”……..again more laughing…….to which teen 1 says bravely…… “pull over and I will show it to you!” At this point I know that this is just a whole bunch of hype but, whatever, I decided to call his bluff and started to pull over to the side of the road…….to which teen 1 gets this really surprised look on his face and says “your not pulling over are you?”……… “well you said you would show it to me if I pulled over” I replied…..to which teen 1 replies “well I wasn’t serious”. Teen 3 says “oh burn”……( a new statement apparently meaning gottcha or she got you)we are all laughing pretty hard at this point…..score one point for me!… Teen 2 trying to be smart decided that he was going to try to try his hand at being funny and says something to the effect of “Between my great, great, great grampa & I, we know everything, just ask me anything?” Both teen 1 & teen 3 knowing this joke already just stay silent not wanting to look stupid…….to which teen 2 says “come on……ask me anything”……to which teen 1 says “I know what you are going to say”……to which teen 2 says again louder this time “Come on……just ask me anything”………..to which my friend replies rather sarcastically….. “what color are my panties?”…….. (pause while teen 2 turns bright red)……..teen 3 goes “oh, BURN”…….score a point for my friend…..teen 2 sat there kind of embarrased and surely not prepared for the witty state of the Adults in the car & just decided to be really quiet while the my friend and I were laughing so hard that we were crying…….when we got home later I was sitting in my hot tub & just smiling about the evening because it did involve allot of laughing…….and suddenly I realized why I am so tired all the time…..I mean….. aren’t you just tired reading this story…….it’s the constant need to be wittier than my teenagers and my friends teenagers that will lead to my mental demise, I’m sure of it…..but, at least we will go insane laughing………….. that is my philosophy…….. :o))~

9 thoughts on “A Conversation with Teens

  1. Girl – that is just too funny :). Thank you so much for sharing. I am glad that you and your friend had such witty comebacks 🙂

    Blessings to your Friday evening and always…

  2. So that is why I have been feeling exhausted as of late???? It is quite challenging to stay one step ahead isn’t it?

  3. Ha Ha Ha, I’m the youth leader that never sends them out to their parents on time.

    One day God will get back at me and I will be the one waiting in the car

  4. That is just too funny! I sure did need a laugh tonight.

    Thank you for making me laugh :).

    ~Betty~

  5. Yep…that completely cracked me up!!! That IS exhausting. You’re a great role model, Crystal.

  6. sigh….teens….
    My sis and I always try and listen in on teenage conversations when we’re out. Must be nice to just joke around all day and not be serious….to be free from all that worry and fear that grips us adults.
    Oh wait, we can do that too!

  7. that is so funny! love that you called his bluff!

    I used to be a youth worker – so it brought back memories!

Leave a Reply

