In Other Words

“It is insufficient to proclaim that the Church of God has a mission in the world. Rather, the God of mission has a Church in the world.”~ Tim Dearborn ~
Well I could not go through this week without posting about this great quote. Laurel Wreath is hosting this week and it is such a passionate subject for me. I believe that you cannot consider yourself a Christian if you do not do something about the poverty in the world in some way….
Jesus was very passionate about the poor and He loved them passionately…
1 Sam 2:8
He raises the poor from the dust and lifts the needy from the ash heap; he seats them with princes and has them inherit a throne of honor. “For the foundations of the earth are the LORD’s; upon them he has set the world.
Psalm 82:3-4
Defend the cause of the weak and fatherless; maintain the rights of the poor and oppressed.
Rescue the weak and needy; deliver them from the hand of the wicked.
Proverb 19:17
He who is kind to the poor lends to the LORD, and he will reward him for what he has done
Matt 19:21
Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”
Luke 14:12-14
Then Jesus said to his host, “When you give a luncheon or dinner, do not invite your friends, your brothers or relatives, or your rich neighbors; if you do, they may invite you back and so you will be repaid. But when you give a banquet, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind, and you will be blessed. Although they cannot repay you, you will be repaid at the resurrection of the righteous.”
I could put allot more verses on this post but I just wanted you to get a taste for what Jesus was passionate about….he didn’t cater to the rich…..he went to where the poor were! This can apply all over the world and just because you can’t go to Africa doesn’t mean you can support a child that needs food in Africa. Do you know that if every one who calls themselves a Christian would just give 1 dollar a day to elimiate poverty we could make a HUGE difference in the “stupid” poverty in the world……we can all make a difference globally & locally by just stepping up and finding out what We Can do……one of my favorite organizations is Compassion where you can support a child & Bono of U2 support this organization. The World is our mission field….do not just stand by and let your blessings pass you by…. Listen to what God says in James 2:14-26
What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead. But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.”Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by what I do.
You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.
You foolish man, do you want evidence that faith without deeds is useless? Was not our ancestor Abraham considered righteous for what he did when he offered his son Isaac on the altar? You see that his faith and his actions were working together, and his faith was made complete by what he did. And the scripture was fulfilled that says, “Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness,”and he was called God’s friend. You see that a person is justified by what he does and not by faith alone.
In the same way, was not even Rahab the prostitute considered righteous for what she did when she gave lodging to the spies and sent them off in a different direction? As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.
I have not always thought this way but God has really been convicting me that my faith needs actions and how I view the poor is one way I can put my faith into action.
Thanks for joining me for this weeks “In Other Words”

9 thoughts on “In Other Words

  1. Crystal, I love how you show you can put faith into action. Beautifully written. I am honored to be added to you list thank you =)

  2. I also believe that Christinas need to be concerned about the poor among us… thanks for your post!

  3. You are right. God puts our ‘personal’ missions on our heart. I also believe that they change over time 🙂

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts this week with us.

    Blessings to you and yours.

  4. I love it! What an inspiring take on this quote! Thanks Crystal!
    (and hope you’re enjoying the warmer weather too!)

  5. I enjoyed this post–you are absolutely right! I saw in your profile that you like Dee Henderson. I have read all her books–love them! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

