Surrender

The definition of Surrender

–verb (used with object)

1. to yield (something) to the possession or power of another; deliver up possession of on demand or under duress: to surrender the fort to the enemy; to surrender the stolen goods to the police.
2. to give (oneself) up, as to the police.
3. to give (oneself) up to some influence, course, emotion, etc.: He surrendered himself to a life of hardship.
4. to give up, abandon, or relinquish (comfort, hope, etc.).
5. to yield or resign (an office, privilege, etc.) in favor of another.

–verb (used without object)

6. to give oneself up, as into the power of another; submit or yield.

This week has been a hard week………there are 2 people who have come back into my life after deciding that they did not want me for a friend(they literally said it to me) and suddenly through different circumstances they want me as a friend again……this has all happened in a matter of a week! I don’t know about you but I struggle with trust after something like this. I have forgiven them but I am so afraid of being hurt again that it’s been making me anxious so I called a friend of mine to pray with me tonight. Through a series of events something I had dreaded happened tonight…..after praying for me she just boldly stated “You have not surrendered this to God”……..”What? Yes I have……I replied” “Well if you had surrendered this to God then you would not be anxious about it, you would just be obedient” she replied…….Ouch!
She is right, I carry around this baggage that I don’t need to carry…….Jesus wants me to surrender it! Something she said just struck me right between the eyes…….God is going to keep making you walk down this road until you get it…….YOU CAN NOT DO THIS IN YOUR OWN STRENGTH! The only way He can prove to me that He is God and I am human is to do the supernatural but I keep standing in His way by not surrendering it. He wants to give me His strength so that I truly can know His power…………

2 Corinthians12:9
But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

Hebrews 4:15-16
For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet was without sin. Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

I am humbled again by the grace God shows me……I am so stubborn…….so weak……but I have the resources to be powerful in God’s strength and I refuse to tap into it because my pride says “I can do this on my own”. There it is again……..that PRIDE! All I can do is fall to my knees and cry………

1. All to Jesus I surrender; all to him I freely give;
I will ever love and trust him, in his presence daily live.

Refrain: I surrender all, I surrender all,
all to thee, my blessed Savior, I surrender all.

2. All to Jesus I surrender; humbly at his feet I bow,
worldly pleasures all forsaken; take me, Jesus, take me now. (Refrain)

3. All to Jesus I surrender; make me, Savior, wholly thine;
fill me with thy love and power; truly know that thou art mine. (Refrain)

4. All to Jesus I surrender; Lord, I give myself to thee;
fill me with thy love and power; let thy blessing fall on me. (Refrain)

Words: J.W. Van Deventer
Music: W.S. Weeden

I am so thankful for friends who are willing to tell me the truth……..it definitely hurt being told the truth…..but…..I know she loves me…….so I know she would not say something to hurt me on purpose. God is speaking to me loud and clear and now it’s my choice what I do with what He wants me to do…..

5 thoughts on “Surrender

  1. I experienced this same thing, in regards to my parents. I had to keep reliving it over and over again until I understood that I had to surrender it completely…not just piece by piece…it is such a freeing feeling when you are ablt to do that!

  2. You know, your friend is right, Crystal. I know it hurts, but I also know that she spoke the truth in love.
    I have held on to some issues in the past, until I finally surrendered it to Him…

    Blessings to your weekend.

  3. I’ve been through a similar situation with a friend,and trust is a major issue for me. For me I did pray to God and I know it’s better for me not to be in this type of friendship.
    Each person is different. Because someone wants now to be your friend doesn’t mean that you need to be.
    Just listen to what God tells you to do…and peace will follow.

  4. Oh, this was a great post, because you know what? God has been speaking the exact same lesson to me this week. He gave me different scripture though. Phillipians 4:6-7. It says “Be carefull (stressed out) about nothing…let your requests be known unto God…” And it comes with a promise of peace. I’ve been trying to practice bring it to Him this week whenever I feel overwhelmed.

  5. Ouch. I had just gotten off the phone with my hubby when I read your post. We were talking about the exact same issue. I felt the full blow of your comments. Thanks. Excuse me while, I go talk to my ever-patient Lord about the “S” word.

Leave a Reply

