Thoughtful Thursday (kind of Thankful too)


What is a real friend? This is something I really have been thinking about lately……what kind of friend am I? So here is a list I have made for myself……

  • A real friend is thoughtful & really cares about all the details in her friends life no matter how insignificant
  • A real friend listens and is willing to be her friends needs ahead of hers.
  • A real friend always looks for ways to build her friend up.
  • A real friend always tells the truth no matter how painful the process.
  • A real friend is a friend even when they don’t feel like being your friend. They always forgive and walk with you during difficult times.
  • A real friend measures her words so that she will never say anything that will hurt or damage that friend even when frustrated or angry with her. When the truth needs to be told it’s always measured with love.
  • A real friend takes interest in her friends interests even if it’s boring to her, just because……if its something her friend is interested in, well, then there must be something good about it!

Those are just a few things that I try to hold myself to as a friend to others…..it’s tough sometimes when friend betrays you or say something that hurts you……..as a Christian I really believe we are called to a higher standard……it’s not easy but it’s very rewarding. Here are a few things the Bible says about friendship.

Proverbs 17:17
A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.

Proverbs 18:24
A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

Proverbs 27:6
Wounds from a friend can be trusted, but an enemy multiplies kisses.

Eccl 4:10
If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!

So Today I am thankful for my friends…..past & present…..you know who you are……THANK YOU for being my friend! I am extremely grateful for you!

It’s my hubby’s 40th Birthday today so it would not be right without saying hot grateful I am for him…..he’s my rock!

One more thing…..a real friend will sacrifice personal sleep to come sit in the hot tub with you…..LOL……Thanks for your sacrifice Darla! ‘Hugs’


For more Thankful Thursday please visit Iris @ Sting my heart
Blessings

13 thoughts on “Thoughtful Thursday (kind of Thankful too)

  1. Unfortunately, it seems that too many people take good friendships for granted. Thanks for the reminder to be thankful!

  2. I love your thoughts on friendship. It is so true, we should not hurt each other in any way, shape or form. Yes, sometimes we have to speak the truth, but it always can be done in love :)….

    You are really loving your hot-tub, don’t you? It is so funny to see the snow around it…

    Blessings on your day and always.

  3. Wow…this is neat; tying in so much for this meme ;). I loved this thankful post. Thank you for sharing it!

  4. It can be hard to maintain a truly honest and loving friendship, but by God’s grace it is still possible. Happy birthday to your hubby!

    God bless!

  5. This is a wonderful post~thank you for sharing. Friends are a special gift from God and the relationship must be nurtured.

    Love the hot-tub shot!

    Blessings. You’ll find me today at Child of God ~ not my usual spot.

  6. Wonderful thoughts on friendships—thanks for sharing! Happy Birthday to your hubby!

    Looks like fun in the hot tub. Not sure I could get out with that snow though!

  7. True friends are so hard to find. I’m glad to hear that you value your friends so much and that you are holding yourself to a high standard of being a wonderful friend.

  8. My thankful list this week also has a lot to do with my good friends who have met up to the standards you listed and have gone way beyond that. There really is nothing like a good friend. Thanks for your reminders.

  9. Those are some true points on friendship. I like to remember to treat others the same way I want to be treated 🙂

  10. Crystal-

    What a wonderful list! I admit that I don’t have many friends. I really don’t know how to make friends. I appreciate the insight that you have offered. It’s like a little remedial course for me 🙂

    Blessings-
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

