In Other Words – Just Breathe

“To be a Christian without prayer is no more possible than to be alive without breathing”
~ Martin Luther ~

Most people think of prayer as sitting or kneeling quietly in a corner somewhere to spend time with God. I wish I would be able to do that…..I just can’t sit still or even kneel for that matter for long periods of time. My best prayer time is in my car on my way to work or when I have just sent the kids off to school………it’s almost like second nature, like breathing, just walking around talking to God. My husband and kids think I am just mumbling to myself but really I am having a conversation with God.

Most people who know me know that I am one of those really strong willed people who don’t just accept things at face value so often my conversations with God are a form of debate……….”Why do I have to do it this way Lord? I think my way is better!” His answer to me in a still small voice is “Crystal, do you love me?” My answer, “of course Lord!” It’s one of those conversations I am reminded of in John 21:15-19 when Jesus was talking to Peter…..
15
After breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” “Yes, Master, you know I love you.”
Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.”
16 He then asked a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?”
“Yes, Master, you know I love you.”
Jesus said, “Shepherd my sheep.”
17-19 Then he said it a third time: “Simon, son of John, do you love me?”
Peter was upset that he asked for the third time, “Do you love me?” so he answered, “Master, you know everything there is to know. You’ve got to know that I love you.”
I am way to much like Peter, more than I would like to admit some days…..when I first read this passage I thought “man that Peter is denser than a sack of hammers” until I realized that most of my conversations with God are like this……ouch.
Another statement has come out in some conversations with God is something like this “Why do I have to go through this Lord, I am really tired of bad things happening to me” and his quiet reply is something like this….
“bad things happened to me and I was perfect” If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will save it. What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, and yet lose or forfeit his very self? If anyone is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his glory and in the glory of the Father and of the holy angels.” (Luke 9:23-26)
Another Ouch……my question to Him often is “Lord why do you love me? I don’t deserve it” and his reply is something like this “I created you, I know what you are capable of”….Jeremiah 31:3-4 says something like this I’ve never quit loving you and never will.
Expect love, love, and more love!
And so now I’ll start over with you and build you up again,
Getting back to the point in all of this……..it is that God will always answers, it’s very rarely an answer we expect thougg if you are like me at all. He does say “no” or even “wait”to our wants and yet gives us exactly what we need at the right time, but, when I don’t get the answer I want I just assume that He’s not listening to me. Helloooooo, did I not ask loud enough? :o)) Something that I am learning is that God never moves away from me………more than likely if I feel distant from God it’s because I have moved away from him because I didn’t like the answer that He gave me so I stopped talking to HIM. So in my quest to becoming closer to the Living God it means I need to have a constant conversation with Him…….even if I feel I need to debate…..He still listens and continues to speak to me in that still small voice….
For more on this weeks quote please visit Iris @ Sting my heart. Thanks Iris for a great thought provoking quote.
Blessings
5 thoughts on “In Other Words – Just Breathe

  1. I try to debate God as well. Glad He indulges me and keeps driving His plan and answer into my heart. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Debating is own thing we like to do–or bargaining for the matter. I know that I have found myself doing both *sigh*…He still answers, just sometimes not the way we like.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this week’s IOW quote.

    Blessings to your day and always…

Leave a Reply

