Worship, a decision of the will!

“I long to worship Jesus with the heart of a child, in a state of pure and true adoration. Yet so many things of the world cloud my thoughts and pull on my heart until it’s no longer just a girl in the arms of the Father”
~ Darlene Schacht ~
“The Mom Complex”

The world is pulling me away……..last week we were so close but life has just taken over since I have been home from the Worship Conference in Edmonton. I know that it can’t be that way all the time but I sure would like it to be…….pure, simple, uninhibited worship. Every day in the last week has just dragged me down and sucked the life & passion out of me once again……it’s so frustrating! I know that He is walking this road with me so I am not alone but it sure feels alone. One of the worship leaders at the conference said something that really struck me, we as a collective church don’t want to hear each other’s bad stuff.…..the valleys, we only want to hear the great stuff that God is doing, so when teenagers come into the church they become disillusioned with God because they feel God only wants the good stuff, not the bad stuff, and let’s face it…..teenage suicide rate is on the rise big time! I heard somewhere that teenage suicide is the #1 killer of teenagers now. It’s our fault…..We only want happy songs at church, happy stories, not songs or stories that lament and ask God where he is. I’ve even been told as a songwriter….don’t write sad songs……it’s so depressing but then I misrepresent who God is………and that sometimes life just sucks. We are human and he is God and unlike most people think……..He wants to hear about what is going on in our life, good & bad…….He wants us to praise Him, even when the no one understands what we are going through……listen to David in Psalm 13

1 How long, O LORD ? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?

2 How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
and every day have sorrow in my heart?
How long will my enemy triumph over me?

3 Look on me and answer, O LORD my God.
Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death;

4 my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,”
and my foes will rejoice when I fall.

5 But I trust in your unfailing love;
my heart rejoices in your salvation.

6 I will sing to the LORD,
for he has been good to me.

There is the key……..but I will trust……it’s a decision of our will…….not our feelings! I will … sing…..even when the clouds loom overhead………..even though there is more snow falling and I am in need some warm weather & sunshine…….it’s the only thing that comforts me when I am in a valley…….singing brings me peace…….so if you are having a valley moment like me……join me in singing Psalm 13 and feel the loving arms of our Father wrap Himself around you……and just rest!

Please visit Iris @ Sting my Heart & read her take on this weeks quote.
Blessings

11 thoughts on “Worship, a decision of the will!

  1. You know, after a worship conference the valleys seem deeper than normal. I have had that happened to me before…
    I am saddened that people tell you not to write sad songs. When I look at some of the old hymns – they are sometimes sad – okay – so some of them make me cry.
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this week’s IOW quote.
    Blessings on your day and always…

  2. Thank you for sharing. I agree that sometimes we try to mask the down times in our spiritual life rather than be honest about them and acknowledge that God is faithful in sad and happy times. Blessings to you!

  3. great post! It’s true; fluff seems to be better than the truth in the eyes of the world.

  4. We must always be honest before God, He sees plastic smiles as lies. When we admit our sadness and pains to Him He can heal us.

    Thanks and blessings.

    p.s. your link from Iris’ linked to an older ‘In Other Words’ post

  5. I agree when you talk about will vs feelings. I am constantly having to remind myself of that. I will chose to follow Christ, I will chose to love that unlovable person in my life, Christ gives me the power to do so….my feelings will follow later.

    Great post.

  6. If we were more honest about the muck in our lives, we would probably be a better encouragement to others than when we pretend we have no problems. Thanks for a great post.

  7. Thanks for sharing this so well. I think many times those watching us from the outside watch more when we go through the tough times to see how we will react to God – as Job did. We need to show God’s faithfulness through the good and bad. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Crystal,

    I pray that God will bring you back on that mountaintop you were just on after he teaches you what he wants to teach you. Isn’t our God Awesome, he is so big and we can just throw ourselves in HIS arms and he catches us everytime. I will sing to the Lord for he has been good to me. I pray that he will lift you up right now and give you that big hug you need from your heavenly father. Keep on keepin on!

  9. Brian Doerksen has a beautiful and very real song based on that passage of scripture. I love his writings, because he has tasted pain in life, yet chooses to trust and praise. I can relate to him.
    Janet

Leave a Reply

