Merry Christmas????

“Christmas is not a time nor a season, but a state of mind. To cherish peace and goodwill, to be plenteous in mercy, is to have the real spirit of Christmas.”

~ Calvin Coolidge ~Former President of the United States

I have to be honest, I am a little embarrased…….I really don’t like Christmas….I get sick of Christmas carols that play endlessly…….I don’t like the business or the rudeness of people and even more so I don’t like who I become during the Christmas season. I wish I could say something different but I believe I am the proverbial scrooge. Over the last few years I think I am getting better with it and learning to set aside my selfishness and be more of the person God has asked me to be, but when I saw the quote for the week I was taken back a bit because I really don’t feel like I have much to share about the subject. I don’t know why I am this way, or what moment in my history has made me so grumpy over Christmas……I wish there was something specific I could blame it on……but there is nothing……it’s just me…….and coming face to face with me over Christmas is a pretty difficult thing. I truly do wish I could be more gracious and merciful…..I wish I loved decorating for Christmas……I wish I loved giving the gifts………I wish I could LOVE christmas music…..but more and more I am realizing that this does have to be an every day event in my heart, not just one specific season. I don’t know what it is about Christmas though that makes me change my attitude….because for the rest of the year I really do try to be merciful and gracious and generous…….and with moving next week I seem to be even more so in a scroogie mood……so I again (sigh) I must come to the foot of the cross and ask for much forgiveness……and luckily Jesus doesn’t pick and choose when He hands out mercy and forgiveness…..He just gives it. Darlene is hosting “In other words” this week so if you want to read more from other people’s perspective feel free to take a look a her blog, “God, 4 kids and a dead fish named sniff”.

Here is a verse I came across today that has really challenged me to be better, especially over Christmas…..from Deut. 15:10-11

“Give generously to him(those in need) and do so without a grudging heart; then because of this the LORD your God will bless you in all your work and in everything you put your hand to. There will always be poor people in the land. Therefore I command you to be openhanded toward your brothers and toward the poor and needy in your land.”

Well moving day is coming closer and closer, and as much as I would like some magical angels to appear to help us move next week, I don’t think it will happen……..so I think this will be my last post for this year! We hope to have the entire house packed by the 23rd. Dec 24th I am on the worship team in the morning and at the candlelight service in the evening I am singing. Dec 25 we are spending with my family at my Mom & Dad’s and Dec 26th we will be packing up the remaining boxes so that at 7 a.m. on Wednesday we can start loading up the truck we have rented. Dec 28 will be spent unpacking and cleaning and Dec 29th I will be working in the church office and after work we are leaving for Edmonton to spend New year’s with Barry’s family.

So in the Spirit of Christmas I wish all of you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! I hope each of you have a blessed Christmas season.

7 thoughts on “Merry Christmas????

  1. I’m all for thinking it’s over commercialized myself, so I understand that! as the saying goes, we need to put Christ back into Christmas.
    Good luck on the move and have fun in Edmonton! We were there last month!

  2. Yes – I think the attitude should be 365 loving Christ and being generous and merciful. I think you just have a lot on your plate right now with moving and all.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  3. I think that Christmas as society celebrates it is so far from the mark that it turns me into Scrooge too often as well. My husband always has a way of sparking the joy in me again and helping me focus on truth and love.

  4. Good luck with your move! I love the picture and appreciate your candor about Christmas- it’s not a happy time for everyone! It’s certainly easy to let the craziness trump the quiet miracles, isn’t it?

  5. I hope you have a great christmas, despite how you may feel about it at times.

    I hope the move goes smoothly as well. Take care.

  6. I understand your struggles with Christmas and I pray that you find comfort in the fact that you are not alone in your “scrooginess”. Perhaps if we dwell more in the Christ part of Christmas we can find our comfort through this emotional time. Godspeed with your moving and may your Christmas be filled with unexpected blessings!!!

  7. Hi Crystal – I look forward to seeing you this coming week.

    I’m sure we’ll get to hang out – hoorah!!

    I love having an entire week of scheduled family gatherings. For some that may seem like the definition of torture, but I’ve been so bless with kick #$^ family that it’s the best thing ever!

    See you soon

Leave a Reply

