Choosing to Change

I have been thinking allot about my life lately, reflecting on decisions (good & bad) that I have made to get me to this point. Maybe it’s a midlife crisis or something who knows after all I am turning 40 next year :o))? I have been reading this book(I have a picture of it posted on the side) and even though I have only read 3 chapters I am feeling very challenged.

Here’s a quote when he’s talking to a NASA scientist.

“What are the tolerances you build into the trajectory when you blast off and head to the moon?
Could you be a few degrees off and still be ok?”

The scientist pulls out his calculater and says basically, even if you are only 2 degrees off in your tradjectory you would miss the moon by 11,121 miles.

Our lives are a little like that, “just add in enough time & distance and be off just two degrees and you’ll miss your target by miles.”

In this book he talks about just that one bite more of food that we know we should not have adding up to being overweight a year or even 10 years later and that just hit me between the eyes………I didn’t suddenly just arrive here 100 pounds overweight……..I chose it every day as I was growing up……I still choose it every day and until I make the 2 degree change I will stay the same weight until I die. All it takes is to change the way I think right (sounds easy doesn’t it?) but this is almost 40 years of thought patterns and habits that really are hard to change. I know I must do the changes to be successful but it is a daily struggle.

There are other things too…….. our choosing our thought patterns, not setting goals for ourselves and stuff like that, turning 2 degrees to have an affair verses the 180 degrees it takes to keep you committed to your marriage……..but the weight issue is the one thing that really challenged me the most today. I have chosen this way of life, therefore I must choose to change it daily!

My challenge to you “young folk” is to take stock of your life now, make the 2 degree changes when you are younger because it gets allot harder as you get older. Where do you want to be in 20 years and how do you want to be known? Think about those things now, because the everyday choices that you make now are what make you who you are in 20 years……..I wish I would have realised some of these things 20 years ago, it sure would have saved me allot of trouble.
I found these verses challenging my heart today convicting me to change…….

Rev 3

15-17 “I know you inside and out, and find little to my liking. You’re not cold, you’re not hot—far better to be either cold or hot! You’re stale. You’re stagnant. You make me want to vomit. You brag, ‘I’m rich, I’ve got it made, I need nothing from anyone,’ oblivious that in fact you’re a pitiful, blind beggar, threadbare and homeless. “

19 “The people I love, I call to account—prod and correct and guide so that they’ll live at their best. Up on your feet, then! About face! Run after God!

20-21 “Look at me. I stand at the door. I knock. If you hear me call and open the door, I’ll come right in and sit down to supper with you. Conquerors will sit alongside me at the head table, just as I, having conquered, took the place of honor at the side of my Father. That’s my gift to the conquerors!”

I want to be at that head table with the conqueorers, I want to be known as someone who passionately follows after God and listens to His voice. I need to make changes everyday to make that happen. I’ll pray for you if you pray for me?

Blessings

4 thoughts on “Choosing to Change

  1. That was a very heart-felt post. I pray that you will continue to find the strength to walk in that change in your life. Weight is a struggle. I was never over weight but i was anorexic and that has been hard now that I am pregnant to accept that I am gaining weight.
    Keep your eyes on Jesus, it’s a blessing to those who know you.

  2. Yeah get a tattoo. I know that some people are against them. I guess that’s why I have it in a place that isn’t for all to see but a reminder to me of what God has done for me. I like the sunflower idea. Where will you get it?

  3. that sounds like an incredible book, heavy, but really good.
    i don’t think i could chew on a book like that right now, but soon hopefully
    carebear

Leave a Reply

