What do I look like when I am filled with the Spirit?

I was working on this very interesting article at church and I thought all of you might enjoy it! I found it to be very informative and clarifying for me…….


* What does it mean to be filled by the Spirit? The word “filled” (“be filled with the spirit”) means “to be controlled by” or “under the influence of”.

* Why be filled with the Spirit? God wants to enhance our strengths & eliminate our weaknesses. He does this through the Holy Spirit.

* How am I filled with the Spirit?
1. Daily Surrender & submission to the Spirit
2. Study, meditation, & practice of the Scripture in the power of the Spirit
3. Earnest, fervent, & persistent prayer throughout the day
4. Accountability to and support from another person & persons

***This is the part I liked the most…..it goes through the fruits of the spirit and what they mean…..they even give you the greek word from the original script!

* What do I look like when I am filled with the Spirit?

1. Love is self-sacrifice! (Agape: “Unconditional commitment to the well-being of others.” Opposite is apathy.)

a. I do to others what I would want them to do to me (Luke 6:31)
b. I do not speak unhealthy and harmful words but only words that
bring health, healing & hope to those around me. (Eph. 4:29)

2. Joy is confidence! (Chara: “Inner confidence that God is in control despite the circumstances.” Opposite is doubt.)

a. I grow in the midst of trials (James 1:2-4)
b. I do not allow my circumstances to determine my attitude & actions.
(2 Cor 6:10 & 1 Peter 4:12-13)

3. Peace is contentment! (Eirene: “Tranquility of mind & emotions based on the knowledge that God will only allow what is best for us.” Opposite is anxiety.

a. I turn specific anxieties into specific requests. (Phil 4:7)
b. I am content in every circumstance. (Phil 4:11)

4. Patience is suffering long! (Makrothumia: “Steadfastness of the soul under provocation or persecution.” Opposite is resentment.)

a. I repay evil with good ( 1Thess 5:15)
b. I forgive (Luke 23-24)

5. Kindness is sensitivity! (Chrestotes: “Treating others with dignity & respect.” Opposite is callousness.)

a. I use my afflication to comfort others. (2 Cor 1:4)
b. I rejoice with those who rejoice & weep with those who weep.
(Romans 12:15)

6. Goodness is moral strength! (Agathosune: “Acting in accordance with the principles of Scripture.” Opposite being a moral.)

a. I am good without reward (Luke 6:35)
b. I abhor evil (Romans 12:9)

7. Faithfulness is dependability! (Pistis: “A trustworthiness & loyalty to God & others.” Opposite is irresponsibility.)

a. I mean yes when I say yes and no when I say no. (Matt 5:8)
b. I can be trusted with what God has given me. (Luke 16:10)

8. Gentleness is graciousness! (Prantes: “A gentle strength of a teachable person.” Opposite is disrespect.)

a. I am open to correction & training. (2 Tim 3:16-17)
b. I speak with a grace that is appropriate in each situation (Col 4:6)

9. Self-Control is discipline! (Egkrateia: “A strength of integrity demonstrated by a mastery over impulses & desires.” Opposite is hedonism.)

a. I offer my body up daily as a living sacrifice, holy & acceptable to
God. (Romans 6:13 & Romans 12:1-2)
b. I daily renounce and reject the flesh & it’s desires, the world and
it’s priorities and values, the evil one & his forces and their
temptations, accusations, & deceptions. (Romans 13:14, Eph 4:27, & Romans 12:1-2)

I hope each of you are “filled with the spirit”.
Blessings

Leave a Reply

