Plan # 3 Maturity

I almost forgot the last part of my plan……..
I am taking a mentorship program through my church this fall……….this process will hook me up with someone to mentor me and in turn I will need to mentor someone! I am really excited about this program because it will really help me fine tune my spiritual disciplines as well as teach me how to disciple others better. No more fu fu Christianity for me!
This is something I have been thinking about lately……Maturity……..growing up……not only emotionally but spiritually as well…..why is it that most Christians settle for being babies when there is so much more available to us? I have been wrestling with this allot myself & I have watched people……even more mature in years people always being satisfied with being parinoid, always blaming someone else for the problems in their life never taking responsibility for themselves, always playing the victim. You often hear this especially in the Christian Church……statements like this “if the worship leader would lead my kind of music I would be able to enter into worship better”, “if the Pastor would preach the word like I want him to I would be able to pray for him better or support him better”. Feed me, cater to me, help me, look at me! The problem with this mentality is that our focus is always on someone else………so we never have to look at the “log in our eye”. I personally struggle with this……….I often revert to blaming my husband, children, parents……….or whoever is available for me not getting what I want, it’s always someone else’s fault for my plight in life….. I believe God wants me to only focus on what I can learn from every little thing that happens to me in my life. So the question should not be “who’s fault is it?”……the question should be “what can I learn from this?”. More than that we, ok, I need to GROW UP! The only person I can control is me…….my tongue, my hands, my feet…..I cannot control anyone else……..what they say……..how they act……how they treat me……..so it’s my responsibility to only look at me! If I want to change something…….only I can do it. People can only offend me if I let them have that power over me………..will people still hurt me? Yes……..it’s a result of sinful man……….but God never wastes an experience. He is always calling us to a higher standard……that is why we have trials. It’s my job to accept the trials with JOY(don’t mistake joy for happiness…..look it up!)because these things are what bring me face to face with my own pride, my selfishness, my SIN and you can’t change what you don’t acknowledge.
Listen to Galatians 6:1-6 in the message version;
“1-3 Live creatively, friends. If someone falls into sin, forgivingly restore him, saving your critical comments for yourself. You might be needing forgiveness before the day’s out. Stoop down and reach out to those who are oppressed. Share their burdens, and so complete Christ’s law. If you think you are too good for that, you are badly deceived.
4-5 Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that. Don’t be impressed with yourself. Don’t compare yourself with others. Each of you must take responsibility for doing the creative best you can with your own life.
6 Be very sure now, you who have been trained to a self-sufficient maturity, that you enter into a generous common life with those who have trained you, sharing all the good things that you have and experience.”


Maturity is a huge thing that is lacking in our society today! It’s a dog eat dog world…….only looking out for No. 1 world but somewhere down the line we need to stop looking at everyone else’s faults and look at ours because only then can we even begin to make a difference in this crazy world.
Well ok…….I went a little farther with that then I had planned but this is totally about my life and what I am learning. I want to make a difference in this world……..so I am starting with ME!

Blessings

2 thoughts on “Plan # 3 Maturity

  1. Awesome truths Crystal. So glad that you’ve come to this realization. I know that God will bless you as you seek His will in all of this.

  2. Way to go Crystal!!! It’s the hardest thing trying to examine who we are, sometimes we don’t like what we see, but getting to that point is an amazing step!!!

Leave a Reply

