An interesting story!

Judges 20
“12 The tribes of Israel sent men throughout the tribe of Benjamin, saying, “What about this awful crime that was committed among you? 13 Now surrender those wicked men of Gibeah so that we may put them to death and purge the evil from Israel.” But the Benjamites would not listen to their fellow Israelites. 14 From their towns they came together at Gibeah to fight against the Israelites. 15 At once the Benjamites mobilized twenty-six thousand swordsmen from their towns, in addition to seven hundred chosen men from those living in Gibeah. 16 Among all these soldiers there were seven hundred chosen men who were left-handed, each of whom could sling a stone at a hair and not miss.

On Sunday Bill Wilson spoke in church and preached on these verses………….now he brought up a very interesting point……..why 700 left handed men? Now I am left handed so I think……wow…..they knew how to PICK THEM! Now the Bible doesn’t go into allot of detail as to why they picked left handed men in this battle but Bill Wilson did some research and found a commentary written in the 1600’s that basically said that these men were left handed because through the course of other battles they had lost fingers or their right hand so they became left handed. Now back then when men were injured in battle they were not sent home automatically like they are now………they were given the option to go home! These 700 men did not go home when they were injured, they decided to become better than they were before with their left hand………..Here is the point Bill Wilson brought out of this……….”what has injured you throughout the course of your life? Did it make you give up on God, the church or on people in general? Do you feel life has been unfair to you, that God should have protected you from something? Are you feeling like a failure? You have a choice…..either it can defeat you or you can use it to become someone who used that to become better than before……..Life is not fair……..that is the reality…….. I was abandoned at 12 by my Mother on a street corner, I know what it means to go without food for 3 days. I’ve been shot in the head, survived 3 plane crashes, been beat up and had more broken bones than I care to count and if I quit I think I would be justified but choose to use those things that have happened to me to make me a better person. Stop playing the victim get up and take the stick that Satan has been beating you over the head with and hit him back……..make a difference in the world!”

This message hit me right between the eyes…..cause I do it……….I blame everyone else for my problems……..my parents, my husband………..people who have hurt me! I take no responsibility for my bad decisions or bad life choices, it’s always someone else’s fault, but listen to this verse(I put it in my previous post too)

Romans 8:28
“Meanwhile, the moment we get tired in the waiting, God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along. If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God. That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.”

Everything in our life, I mean everything can be used to glorify God even though Satan meant to use it to defeat us but it’s our choice what we do with the hurt and the damage the world inflicts on us.

John 16:33 says
“I’ve told you all this so that trusting me, you will be unshakable and assured, deeply at peace. In this godless world you will continue to experience difficulties. But take heart! I’ve conquered the world.”

Wow………just something that I really needed to hear……God uses those circumstances and hurts to refine me into that beautiful diamond as long as I surrender them to Him and allow Him to work through them to bring about good in me. I hope you found it just as encouraging as I did!
Blessings

*Bill Wilson is a Pastor to 20000 kids on the streets of Brooklyn, NY. He is passionate about reaching children for Jesus………children that most people give up on……To find out more about Bill Wilson & Metro Ministries click on this link.

Leave a Reply

