A Diamond in the Rough

Have you every thought about how diamonds come to be? I have been thinkin allot about this lately………diamonds don’t start out like the picture above………….they start out more like the rocks below


Did you know only 35% of the world finest diamonds are used for jewelery? Most diamonds are used in drill bits and diamond tools. A small number are used for glass cutters and surgical instruments, some are used for lasers and shaping tools. Most people think diamonds are fragile but diamonds are the hardest mineral!

So I have been thinking of diamonds……….and how God is working in my life………..the last few years this is what I believe God has been doing in my life………its a perfect picture I believe!

He’s been chiselling……..taking all these rough edges I have off………..because I asked Him to…..because I want to be in the top 35% of the finest diamonds in God’s collection. I want Him to be able to say to me at the end when I see him face to face………you were a beautiful diamond for me! I think God sees all of us as diamonds in the rough………but it’s our choice on whether we want God to use the chisel and take off rough edges to be one of the top diamonds in beauty or to just stay the rock. God is a true gentlemen, He will not force us to change, He doesn’t intrude………..He gave us free will.

I had a friend call me last night to tell me that her son was hit by a car. He is suffering now from major brain trauma! This has been a really difficult year for her, her Dad died this year, she got divorced this year! It’s too early to tell how this will effect him long term but he is in a coma and has a machine breathing for him. I just cried with her on the phone………..I don’t know what I would do if it was my child that had been hit by a car…………she is so angry at God, she thinks He should give her a break! Oh how I wish He would have stopped that car, He could have, but He didn’t! She deserves so much better than having to suffer like that……….but we live in a sinful world and the result of sin is that bad things happen to good people. We blame God when things go wrong…………but we should be mad at the one who brought sin into the world, ADAM. God always desire’s the best for us but there are consequences to our sin and He can’t always intervene to stop those consequences! I am sure He does stop bad things from happening every day but we don’t recognise when He does because we think oh wow, I sure was lucky that I didn’t get hurt badly in the accident I was in the other day. I sure was lucky that I found the cancer before it was untreatable. I sure was lucky that I didn’t get raped that night when a man followed me home, all the while God doesn’t get the credit for protecting us! We see all that bad things that happen all around us but we very rarely recognise when God steps in and spares us from something really bad, some times we don’t even know the danger we have been spared ……… anyways back to my friend………..please keep her in your prayers….she needs comfort right now that only God can provide! Anger is a normal response when something bad happens so I totally understand why she is mad! God wants what is best for her so I am confident that He will walk down this very hard road with her. He promises never to leave us, Duet 31:6 says;

“Be strong. Take courage. Don’t be intimidated. Don’t give them a second thought because God, your God, is striding ahead of you. He’s right there with you. He won’t let you down; he won’t leave you.”

Well that’s it for me today…….don’t miss out on the pictures I posted below of my flowers and the parade we had in Osler today…..or the weight loss update that I posted today on the Weight loss blog. I want to leave you with this verse from Romans 8, in the message version….I love the way this is worded!

“Meanwhile, the moment we get tired in the waiting, God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along. If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God. That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.”

Blessings

7 thoughts on “A Diamond in the Rough

  1. Great post Crystal…what a wonderful reminder. Also congrats on the weight loss…I’m so proud of you…way to go girl!

  2. I can understand your friend’s anger. She has been through so much. I will pray for her.

    It is wonderful to be open to God’s chiseling.

  3. He will never leave us…what an amazing promise…I just wish we always FELT that…you know? sometimes we feel so alone…
    this was a good reminder.

  4. wow, your analogy about the diamonds was full of so much truth. I started thinking that when we choose to stay that rock, adn stay in rebellion, we are actually a danger to ourselves and others! Like you said, if you’re not a precious diamond, you’re a surgical tool, glass cutter or shaper. It’s not our purpose to be those things, it’s God who shapes and cuts us, if we try doing it, we’ll only hurt ourself or someone else. Neat…..
    I too have thought much about how God saves us so many times a day from so many different things, but we just go on with our day. We’re so busy thanking Him for all He’s done, what about all He’s prevented? I know what you mean. It definately stretches things when you think that way. Thank you for sharing, blessings, and congrats on the weight loss. I know He who began a good work in you will carry in on to completion, and I’m looking forward to being able to witness that, what a privellege.

  5. We hear of the ptter analogy alot, but this diamonds one is so good!! I agree with nin. The spirit of God is alive and well in you and you shine bright even in the process of refining!

    Love you

  6. hoofta what to say…BEAUTIFULL.. as i sit here im so amazed i really needed to read that..how incredible thank you for shareing

    p.s. thank you for always comeing to visit my blog i always really appreicate your comments you are such an angel i just know it!!!

  7. Thanks for sharing Crystal! I see you changed your profile description…awesome!!

Leave a Reply

