Why do bad things happen to good people?

Okay so I am struggling with stuff……..so bear with me…….this is a very human Crystal writing this blog. The last 8 months have been really hard……. just when I think things are getting better it all hits me again…..this desert that I feel like I am walking through! It’s a place where everything comfortable has been ripped from me……….several people close to me have died…..friends that I thought I had are not the friends I thought they were…..things and people I thought I could rely on just gone….in the snap of a finger!
I kind of think of my journey like that of the Israelites when they left Eygpt in search of the promised land. God brought them out of slavery, promised them this great piece of land…..but because of their own stubborness and disobedience……….the journey that should have taken less than a year took them 40 years. Man I hope that is not me! Our Pastor had this great message yesterday “God in the midst of life”. An analogy that he used was this; God is like a father trying to spoon feed us(His children) there are several kinds of food and some of it tastes really good..especially the fruits…those foods go down real easy……but then He tries to feed us the stuff that is important to complete the nutrition that we need……the liver, rutabaga……the stuff that for most of us tastes really bad……and we spit it out………He then uses the spoon to collect the stuff we spit out and put it back in our mouths because as much as we don’t like it…….it’s necessary for our growth. We naturally only want the good stuff…………we can praise God in the good times……..BUT……..it’s in the bad times that we grow…….as much as we hate it…….we need to be able to praise God through the bad times too. Listen to what 1st Peter 1:6 & 7 says ” In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kind of trials. These have come so that your faith – of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire – may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory & honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.” James 1:2 & 3 says “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perserverance. Perserverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”
This is the part I struggle with………..we should consider it JOY to face trials……..like we should feel privileged that God should see fit to refine us and put us through struggles?………I personally do allot of spitting when God feeds me trials…….and he mops me up and shoves it back in my mouth………until I get it, that this is something I must learn. The trials are not a sign that God can’t use us……it’s a sign that He can and that He loves me sooo much that He will not leave me in this barren place but wants me to grow, but oh do I ever want to just get to the other side……..”arrive” so to speak.
Sarah and I were talking about this tonight……..It was so good to just talk through some of the stuff I am going through. Thanks Sarah you really encouraged me!

The other reality is that there is allot of evil in this world, nothing we do can avoid it. We are born into sin. Sinful by nature so being sinful and evil comes naturally to us humans. The only way that we can know that Christ lives in us and the only way we can make a difference is this “By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another” John 13:35. “Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good” Romans 12:21. So here comes the other dilema I am dealing with…..I get soo caught up with my own crap…….feeling sorry for myself because I am in this desert place……….that I am doing exactly what the israelites did…..complain, whine and have no faith, so maybe my journey will take 40 years at this rate………but the Bible says to overcome evil with good…….the only way to overcome evil is …. 1st…to have perspective, recognize the evil…2nd…to be deliberate about turning things around and doing good in the midst of evil. So when the crap is flying….that is when we are deliberately suppose to love on someone who needs it more than we do….we are suppose to seek people out who need to see the love of Christ and just love on them. Everyone knows the story of Sharach, Meshack & Abednego (Daniel 3:10-27 its an amazing storey…read it for yourself) These were three men who refused to bow to the kings idol…..the king throws them into a firey furance because they disobeyed his command. They held to their faith in God and refused to bow to the kings golden idol…….they were in the middle of evil……they did not panic……they went into the furnace willingly believing that if they died for God it would all be worth it. But listen to this verse “and the satraps, prefects, governors, and royal advisers crowded around them. They saw that the fire had not harmed their bodies, nor was a hair of their heads singed; their robes were not scorched, and there was no smell of fire on them.” The fire didn’t touch them, they didn’t even smell like smoke………..the evil did not touch them. The king recognised their God as the only God…….he changed the laws and turned from all his idol worship to worship the only God because of these men, it literally changed the nation that they lived in. They overcame the evil that was intended for them and they came out smelling like roses………LOL.
So why do bad things happen to good people? Two reasons;
1. There is evil in the world and that is the consequences of sin.
2. God uses these trials to refine us and make us better……….its a privilege! It’s our chance to “overcome evil with good” to prove who we belong to.

So I want to be like Paul and be able to say ” I know what it is to be in need, and i know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.” Phil 4:12-13

3 thoughts on “Why do bad things happen to good people?

  1. Y-owzers! Very good post. You are in a very good place, picking up every little piece of truth you can find. The enemy wants you to think that everytime something bad happens, you’re right back where you were, but you’re not! You have come very far! You are not wondering around a desert, if you were, you wouldn’t be spilling over with all this truth that you keep passing on to us! Be blessed in knowing that God is growing you much! I don’t even know you and I see growth! Even from reading your post months ago, there’s a huge difference. I love coming here and getting a dose of wisdom from the word of God. We all spit out the yucky food, and we all prefer the good stuff. But in growing our faith and obedience muscles, and walking in His grace and empowerment, we don’t have to walk for 40 years. He is pleased with you, as you are, where you’re at. He loves you. What an amazing God we serve. Thank you for this post.

  2. Yep what an eye opener. For real. And I agree with Nin on this one. Powerful truth spoken. I have gone through, and still am, those lovely trials. I am so thankful for them, really. Because I couldn’t imagine for a moment who I would be with out them.

    A man once said prepare yourself with truth so that when you see those title waves/trials coming you are prepared with the weapon that Satan can not take. And soon that title wave/trial will be over, peace will come, and the glory of God will be served.

    Thank you for sharing your heart it inspired me.

    ~Blessings~

Leave a Reply

