Studying for myself

Ok so since I got so many mixed reviews on my last post let me just say that I think you guys are the greatest………I so appreciate that everyone has their own opinion and I am NOT criticising or judging anyone else’s opinions, I can only evaluate and judge my own……so that being said let me just add to my previous post……….this time my Bible is open and I will just share some scripture with you that have been convicting me…….again this is about me, how God is moving in my life………..so please don’t feel I am pointing at you…..read the scriptures for yourself and let God do the talking!

To clarify some things…….I think most people are misunderstanding what I meant by curses and their effect on me. I think in lots of respect you are right…….words in themselves cannot have any effect………but most of us take on what people say to us and the words become the voice that plays over and over in my head and we start to believe them. For example
when I was young one of my teachers said to me ” Don’t bother trying out for any sports, you are not the athletic type, you never will be” I can still hear the words over and over and so it has become something that I have carried with me into my adult years and I never ever tried out for sports every again, in fact everytime I do try my natural tendency is to give up…..this has effect my health as well…..because I carry it with me………..it effects my body…….lies, bitterness,rebellion and sin have physical effects on our body this is a proven medical fact.
There are several hundred scriptures that refer to the tongue being used for bringing evil on people or blessings………..in the Bible you will almost always find the Blessings synonomis with the curses…..Psalms 5:9, 34:13, Proverbs 11:9, 12:18, 15:4, 18:21
WE have the power to Bless or Curse people by how we talk to them & pray for them because when we pray we are using the spiritual power God has given us to fight the enemy!
Ephesians 6:12 says that “we wrestle not against flesh and blood but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers,of this dark world and against spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realm.” We think it’s just simple to just disregard words and “curses” that have been spoken but in reality………there are spiritual forces at work to keep you defeated. We don’t see it……but it’s there! That is why we need to renounce our sin out loud……
Ok so on to a new topic………Faith……..since this came up as a result of my last post
I can believe in God….that does not make me a Christian……Satan believes in God and hates Him……..Being a Christian makes you a follower of Christ…..it means you confess your sins and begin to work out your salvation(Phillipians 2:12). This is not about doing the good words…..it’s about working on your relationship with God and good works flow from us as a result of God’s working in our life. Galatians 5:22 lists the “fruits of the spirit filled life” this is the evidence of God in our life.
So how can I just lightly believe that there can be other ‘gods’….I guess I can’t………
In scripture no where does it teach that we can believe anything to be God…….
Exodus 20:4-5 says “You shall have no other God’s before me. You shall not make for yourself any carved image, or any likeness of anythings that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth;
You shall not bow down to them nor serve them. For I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children to the third and fourth generations of those who hate me.”
Isaiah 45:21
“There is no other God besides me, a just God and savior, there is none besides me”
John 14:6
“I am the way the truth and the life NO one comes to the Father except through me”
Every different religion if you study them has some famous person who started it…………and all of those people are dead! Christianity is the only Faith that has a Savior that came to earth as a man………..died and took on our sins………..and rose again……there is no other faith that has this. Each of these men where just that……MEN…….who twisted the Bible to fit what they wanted to believe……….they water things down so it seems more appealing cause being a real Christian will cost you something. Many people don’t want to do the things the Bible has commanded us to do so they water it down…create their own version of the the Bible……………..and start their own religion. Different religions believe their own versions of the Bible….but true Christians will take the Bible as the truth from front to back. I may read this book on blessings and curses……….and many others like it………but then it is my responsibility to go to scripture to see if it lines up with the word of God……that is a part of working out your salvation!
In this day and age there is a danger to see God only as this loving and peaceful guy…………we forget that He is also HOLY, JUST. God did destroy Sodom and Gomorra because of the evil in the city…..He cannot stand sin………and the only reason He can accept us now as His children is because of Jesus……..Jesus bridges the gap that sin created between God and Man. When you look at Jesus’ life what do you see? He is my model and I want to be just like Him so it’s important to know that He did not win any popularity contests…….I should expect that there will be allot more people that hate me because of my stand in faith, than love me! (Matt 10:22, Mark 13:13). Jesus took on Himself the curse of my sin…………..died for me…………and rose again to give us victory over the grave and the chance to spend eternity with HIM…………..and then I go and put other things before Him…..idols……..my house, money, trinkets,…..It’s a slap in His face……..rebellion in it’s clearest form!
OK so here is my conclusion…really….it is coming…….I am learning to give up one idol at a time….release myself from the curse they hold on my life……….and never look back………I may be wrong in the stand I have taken with having no contact with other religious trinkets and symbols……..but in giving them up what have I lost? Nothing! But here is the scarey question I leave you with……What if what I have been reading in the Bible is true and I continue to go against what God is asking of me, it’s call rebellion against God…..so this will keep me in bondage to it because rebellion doesn’t get smaller…….it grows……..and eventually because God is not doing things my way, I turn my back on Him or I just get complacent or maybe even start my own version of Christianity. It will defeat me as a Christian and some day I will have to stand before my God…..and give an account of my life…..and the people I turned away from God because of my hypocrasy…….THAT is way scarier to me than giving up some idols in my life and renouncing curses.
My goal at the end of my life here on earth is to hear my Father say to me “well done my good and faithful servant, you have been faithful with a few things, I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share in your master’s happiness” Matt 25:23
I don’t know what all of that will look like yet but I do know that all of it will be worth it in the end. I keep thinking of the verses in Revelation 3:15-16 “I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot? I wish you were either one or the other! So because you are lukewarm-neither hot nor cold- I am about to spit you out of my mouth.” So for me it’s HOT………..I want to be a burning fire for God……….radically sold out…….constantly searching……never settling for less than what God’s best is for me! God doesn’t need anymore bench warmers………He needs Warriors! That is what will make Christianity attractive…………not the fu fu Christianity that is like a Jekel & Hyde personality. Religious looking on Sunday….and swearing and gossiping on Monday! This is the journey I am on…………I can’t say it’s been easy…………probably won’t get any easier on this earth because I am human and I fail allot…..but it’s the only road that leads to true peace!
Blessings to all my blogger friends! Sorry….I did get a little preachy but these are really strong convictions.

Love ya

8 thoughts on “Studying for myself

  1. I never said that I believed in other “gods”. I believe in God. I believe that we should respect others who have their belief in God. I believe their god and my god are the same, but they have a different belief system.
    My relationship with God is between God and I. He knows my beliefs and I feel that for all who believe.
    Like I said I think it’s horrible that someone can think their faith is stronger and more valid than those who practise a different religion. I have become aquainted with someone who blogs and she said to me the other day, “as long as your faith is true of heart it doesn’t matter.” Those words struck me, because that’s what I believe.
    I think if a person begins to think they are cursed, then they will lead a cursed life.
    I respect your opinions, but I don’t believe in some of what you say. Camille posted something yesterday that totally hit home for me. That’s how I feel.
    “Every different religion if you study them has some famous person who started it…………and all of those people are dead”. This shouldn’t matter. These other religions have followers. They have faith…

  2. Ok Jenny so let’s just clarify…I am not talking about other denominations in the Christian faith…..I am talking about those faith’s who consider other things or people to be God or that there can be many gods……….I do totally agree with Camille’s statment as well….we do need to work together in spite of our differences in various theology…….and I don’t think I am better than anyone else….but…..good works cannot get us to heaven! Again just sharing my opinion….thanks for sharing yours….
    Love ya

  3. This is the last I’m commenting I promise!!
    I believe that good works and an honest life, and my relationship with God will bring me to heaven. Who knows? It will be between me and God in the end.
    I know you’re not talking about other denominations in the Christian faith, I wasn’t either.We shouldn’t judge what others have faith in. That’s my belief.
    I think the best thing about being an individual is that we can have our individual viewpoints. Thanks for sharing and I am glad you are open minded enough to let me share mine!!
    Enough said and I promise I’m not commenting anymore!!!
    Cheers!

  4. Well, I think that this was a great post, with tremendous truth in it. I care not to get further into that but none the less it was awesome, thanks!

  5. Great blog. Bible says you cant get to heaven on works. you must have asked jesus into your heart and live for him. Of all the so called Gods out there jesus is the only one that rose from the dead. Hmm thats the God i want to serve and believe in.

  6. wow before I read the other comments, and get distracted with how my heart has recieved this post, I want to comment, THEN read the other comments….

    Preach it sister! The Holy Ghost was sure a talkin through you today!!!
    AMEN AND AMEN!
    Your heart is one that desires holiness, passion and mission for Christ! You are not perfect….but that’s not the point! You are showing the power of God in and through your life. You keep going up this holy mountain, girl and you will be basking in His presence and will behold His beauty!!

    I love that I know you. I love that everytime I’m in superstore I yell out…”HEY CRYSTAL!!” :):)

    Keep on speaking the truth…WHICH IS THE WORD OF GOD! Keep on pointing us to the scriptures. Cause no one can argue God’s word…unless you wanted to argue with God of course….

    The seekers will find him
    It really is a promise. And it’s thorugh unconditional love that you are showing that God will be revealed.
    LOVE YOU LOTS AND LOTS!!!!
    HUGS

  7. Good comments by the way
    Jenny, if you are seeking for the truth, you will find it. If you feel that you have already found the truth, I bless you in your journey.

    Peace šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

