Blessings or Curses

I have been reading book on Blessings and Curses and I am realizing that I am living with curses that have been placed on me as I grew up……….even some ancestral curses. We often don’t realize it but some heated words can place curses on our lives and the lives of our loved ones….
Here are a few that have been said to me and about me………

You will never be the athletic type……………don’t bother trying out for any sports!
You will never have any friends……….no one will ever want you!
Just you wait until your children grow up and disrespect you………..

Those are just a few that I can think of right now………….and the power of words does effect us! There are many verses in the Bible about the danger of idle words……..and this author believes that unless we renounce the curses that have been placed on us………even the ones we don’t know about……..they will constantly haunt us unless we renounce them by the power of Jesus!

Some of the evidences of a Curse on your life are………..
1. Mental and or emotional breakdown
2. Repeated or Chronic sickness(especially if hereditary)
3. Barrenness, a tendency to miscarry or related female problems
4. Breakdown of marriage and family alienation
5. Continuing financial insufficiency
6. Being “accident prone”
7. A history of suicides and unnatural or untimely deaths

Often we place curses on our own lives by allowing things in our lives sometimes even unknowingly………
Some people have gone to fortune tellers, or watch and believe in psychic’s.

There are so many places in the bible that talks about the curses that will be on your life should you listen to these or worship these false Gods.
Some people have idols in their homes…….budda……or any other kinds of images of other gods…….in the Bible in early Jewish history God delares a curse on those who worship false Gods…..He is a jealous God the one and only God!
Some people have ancestors that were Satan worshiper’s and those curses live on through their children and their grandchildren and great grandchildren etc.
God places a curse on people who persecute the Jews because they are God’s chosen people.

Needless to say this book has really got me thinking about my life and I spent allot of time with God today just listening to His voice about the curses in my life….
My Fibromylgia I believe is a result of a curse as well as my struggles with depression and not being able to lose weight. Our struggles with money are a result of curses…..our family problems……….marriage struggles……….I could go on. It has made me think about what I have said about people that may have places curses on their lives……….when I gossip or speak mean words about someone saying “they will never amount to anything” or “they are just impossible” or “I will never forgive them”. Some of my curses are self inflicted because of things I have said to myself…….sin I have not confessed….some has been inflicted on me by others…….

These kinds of curses exsist when you pray with the wrong motives to……..when you pray for someone…….what does your prayers say………are you genuinely praying for your enemies…….or are you praying that God will change them……..

Believe me I am not posting this to accuse anyone out there…….I am just evaluating my own life……. my own motives when I pray…….and I find that I fail often! God has been convicting me today…….and healing me………it’s been quite a day!

The book is Blessing or Curse you can choose by Derek Prince. It’s an interesting read so if you want to know more about what I am talking about. He backs up everything he writes with scripture………..
I have just started to read the section on learning to live in God’s Blessings…..so that may come as a different post somewhere down the line……..
I hope that today you choose to live in God’s blessings and renounce the curses that have been placed on your life.
This is a simple prayer you can pray to renounce the curses in your life;

Lord Jesus Christ, I believe that you are the Son of God; and that you died on the cross for my sins and rose again from the dead.
I give up all my rebellion and all my sin and I submit myself to you as Lord.
I confess all my sins before you and ask for your forgiveness-especially my sins that exposed me to a curse. Release me also from the consequences of my ancestors’ sins.
By a decison of my will, I forgive all who have harmed me or wronged me- just as I want God to forgive me. In particular I want to forgive__________________
I renounce all contact with anything occult or satanic- If I have any “contact objects,” I commit myself to destroy them. I cancel all Satan’s claims against me.
Lord Jesus, I believe that on the cross You took on Yourself every curse that could ever come upon me. So I ask You now to release me from every curse over my life-in your name, Lord Jesus Christ!
By faith I now receive my release and I thank you for it!

If you prayed this prayer…….I encourage you……..tell someone………..Thank God often for your release! Find a church to attend that will encourage you……going to church about us helping each other in the journey. We need each other!
Blessings

16 thoughts on “Blessings or Curses

  1. What an amazing woman you are. Thanks for sharing it is always good to know where things might have come from :)))

  2. I read a book a few years ago called ‘unbroken curses’. It really opened my eyes to the curses that were still on my own life. I definately believe that we release the devil on our lives when we bring unclean things into our home, and when we trust in occultic thing like tarrot cards or psycic’s, or when we flat out walk rebelliosly. It was really interesting and super helpful to learn about the generational curses as well, and to know that as soon as you give them over to God, and ask for forgiveness and healing, He is faithful to come and wipe them out. I love that He is a God of order, and when we fall outside of that order, we need to be reconcilled. I know I need to learn a thing or two about order 🙂
    Good post, thanks for sharing.

  3. that kinda took me back….
    I remember learning about all this stuff when I was first a christian. I had this prayer that was very similar to the one you wrote in red. I read it everyday in fear hoping that if I read it everday, it would eventually loose it’s hold on me. But it never did. I always seemed to be scared of demons and afraid of the dark, thinking that the devil was out to “Get me”….

    Reading your prayer, which I’m assuming you got out of the book, got me thinking of how much God has taught me. And how much I still need to learn….
    The words in the prayer, are awesome. Powerful and precise. If not followed by a walk of obedience, tho, they are meaningless and useless. I understand now, why the fear never left me. Saying mere words followed with an unsubmitted life did nothing.

    I also realized by your blog that you can tend to start to rely on those works, which in the end is also meaningless and useless. I want to walk right in the dependance of God and live a life obedience.
    Thanks for posting this, we sure need eachother to remind us of our walks.
    Love ya!

  4. I don’t believe in curses at all. I have a couple of Buddhas in my home, and a couple of East Indian religious trinkets that my husband picked up along his travels.
    My biggest problem (for lack of a better word) I have witnessed with “Christianity” is not having a tolerance for other religions. I’m not sure if that makes sense. I respect all faith. I don’t like to judge what a person believes in, but I have witnessed firsthand Christians who “talk down” about the different religions. I am reading the bible and trying to learn about Christianity. I still don’t understand why some Christians don’t like Catholics? I always think “who cares as long as they have faith!”
    God is the Almighty Creator, perhaps he introduced these other belief systems to teach us tolerance and acceptance. If we could love one another regardless of religion, that should be the fundamental lesson.
    Like I said I don’t believe in curses…I own a few different “Idols” yet I feel my life is blessed! We are financially stable, healthy, but most importantly we have LOVE!
    Thanks for sharing!!(I thought about whether to post and decided I better throw a different opinion out there!!)
    Have a great day!!

  5. Jenny,
    God has you right where He wants you. Searching to know the truth of His word is the best thing you could do, and believe me, you WILL find the truth you seek. He promises you will! Thank you for reminding us that we all need to walk in love and acceptance. This was Jesus’s whole life, and we need to model that.
    God teaches us different things at different times, I’m so glad we’re not all the same. But we all serve the same God and walk the same straight and narrow path, and for that we are one in the spirit, no matter what our differences. Blessings 🙂

  6. ‘As Jesus was walking along, he saw a man who had been blind from birth. “Teacher,” his disciples asked him, “why was this man born blind? Was it a result of his own sins or those of his parents?”
    “It was not because of his sins or his parents’ sins,” Jesus answered. “He was born blind so the power of God could be siin in him.’ John 9:1-3

    I’ve been thinking about this post. And I have to say, for the most part, I disagree.

    I don’t believe that we suffer the things in our own lives because of previous family members sins or wrong doings. We are responsible for our own wrong doings, not someone elses. I don’t believe in “curses”. I believe in sin, that the things in our lives happen because of the sin that Adam and Eve committed in the beginning. Thats why we all suffer and are tempted by sin. My health problems are because of just that, my health. My money problems are because of me being careless or not being obedient. God has forgiven me of my sins, He sent Jesus to die for me and my sins. I am forgiven from all wrong doing if I ask for it in faith. I can’t change what someone else has done in the past. I can ask for them to be forgiven, I myself can forgive them, but it is up to them to ask God for their own forgiveness and I don’t believe that I suffer for it if they don’t.
    And I don’t believe that someone saying negative things to me places a curse on me. So someone is criticizing me, or trying to make me feel bad about myself. Sure it may affect me, but there comes a time when I need to be accountable for the way that I am, only I and God can change me. We need to let go of the hurts that people have caused us and not use them as excuses for the way we are.
    As far as the owning of idols. I believe that it is unsafe to possess things of the occult, etc. That is setting us up for trouble. But if someone has a “souvenir” from another country, and thats all it is, is a souvenir, and they’re not “worshipping” it, then so be it. I know that alot of you are not going to agree with me, and hey, thats okay.
    And one more thing, I feel that alot of people think that if a book is written by a “christian” it makes the book fact. Sure there are scriptures to back up what they are saying, but what about the scriptures that come before and after the ones that they quote. There is so much that can be taken out of context in the bible if it is not read in its entirety. Just like the JW’s and so one, they used scripture here and there and don’t acknowledge the “whole picture”. Thats where things start to go wrong.
    Please don’t be offended or think that I’m being critical, this is just my opinion and what I believe to be true in my own life.
    Take care.

  7. You always say it way better than me Tanya! I guess that’s why I have you to lean on and learn from!
    I have learned a lot about faith and from religion these past 12 months. It came at a time when I was wondering and needing something. I am happy where I am in my life, but I am thankful that I can still learn and grow. I am happy that Tanya puts up with my silly questions and pointers on how to read the bible (there is an index, page numbers wow!!)Like I said in my comment my biggest obstacle is that some want to disregard other people’s religions. My problem is I believe in Christianity but I can’t disregard others in their faith. Doesn’t make sense…hmm…If someone believes in buddha and I believe in Jesus, I don’t believe I am going to heaven and the other person isn’t. I think if we have faith, does it matter what we call it?

  8. I’m glad that we have God to answer these questions for us. I’m glad that we have eachother to walk out these questions with.

    I’m glad that the word of God has all the answers to all the questions in this life. Let’s continue to study and pray into our questions and share with eachother.

    Thanks again Crystal for sharing. You make us all think
    Love to all

  9. Wow……contraversial subject….you guys have made me smile today…….I sure love you guys! I will follow up tomorrow with maybe some definitions of what I meant but in the mean time…thanks for your comments and for digging deeper into the subject yourself by looking up scripture…..it’s encouraging to know that we can disagree and still love each other….and I am glad that each of you are thinking for yourself!
    Blessings

  10. I also found this today at http://www.gotquestions.org

    Question: “What does the Bible say about breaking generational curses?”

    Answer: The Bible mentions “generational curses” in several places (Exodus 20:5; 34:7; Numbers 14:18; Deuteronomy 5:9). It sounds unfair for God to punish children for the sins of their fathers. However, this is looking at it from an earthly perspective. God knows that sin is passed down from one generation to the next. When a father has a sinful lifestyle, his children are likely to have the same sinful lifestyle as well. That is why it is not unjust for God to punish sin to the third or fourth generation – because they are committing the same sins their ancestors did. They are being punished for their own sins, not the sins of their ancestors. The Bible specifically tells us that God does not hold children accountable for the sins of their parents (Deuteronomy 24:16).

    There is a trend in the church today to try and blame every sin and problem on some sort of generational curse. This is not Biblical. The cure for generational curses is salvation through Jesus Christ. When we become Christians, we are new creations (2 Corinthians 5:17). How can a child of God still be under God’s curse (Romans 8:1)? The cure, then, for a generational curse is faith in Christ and a life consecrated to Him (Romans 12:1-2).

    I haven’t had time to go look through them, but I will.

  11. I just stumbled onto this site and had to jump in. I read the book and like Tanya have come to the same conclusion. All cures are off at salvation as the following scripture say:

    Galatians 1:4 (NKJV)
    4 who gave Himself for our sins, that He might deliver us from this present evil age, according to the will of our God and Father,

    Galatians 3:13 (NKJV)
    13 Christ has redeemed us from the curse of the law, having become a curse for us (for it is written, “Cursed is everyone who hangs on a tree”),

    Christ hung on a tree to remove all curses on his bride. He became sin for us so that we may become the righteousness of God

    2 Corinthians 5:21 (NKJV)
    21 For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.

    Derek Prince does leave the saved reader thinking that they must self redeem themselves. Unless one has his book or some really deep and scattered theology they are a near hopeless case for decades until they learn the reverse curse technique. We have underestimated the complete and satisfactory work of Christ on the cross. The question is, did Jesus do a half way job that we now need to complete? NO!!! His line of thinking undermines what Christ accomplished at Calvary when he said “it is finished” some write books and say No we must now complete the job, God is still angry over things that Jesus couldn’t quit pay for. No a thousand time over you have been made the righteousness of God in Him, you have been redeemed by the perfect blood of the lamb of God, you are accepted in the beloved, you are heir of God and joint heirs with Christ,.

    1 John 5:18 (NIV)
    18 We know that anyone born of God does not continue to sin; the one who was born of God keeps him safe, and the evil one cannot harm him.

    Read the same verse in the amplified bible for clarity:

    1 John 5:18 (AMP)
    18 We know [absolutely] that anyone born of God does not [deliberately and knowingly] practice committing sin, but the One Who was begotten of God (Jesus the Lord)carefully watches over and protects him [Christ’s divine presence within him preserves him against the evil], and the wicked one does not lay hold (get a grip) on him or touch [him].

    Romans 8:32-39 (NKJV)
    32 He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things?
    33 Who shall bring a charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies.
    34 Who is he who condemns? It is Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intercession for us.
    35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?
    36 As it is written: “For Your sake we are killed all day long; We are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.”
    37 Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.
    38 For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come,
    39 nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

    How sufficient is Christ….for you?

  12. Good question……I think if you read the next post you might understand better at what I was trying to say…..but I think at all points in our life we come to this question because often we push Christ out of our lives so much that we don’t let him be sufficient……it’s not that He isn’t……it’s that we don’t let him be….
    Thanks for sharing
    Crystal

  13. I agree. I fail at walking in him when I look at my insufficiency instead of what He has made me. 1 John says “Now we are the sons of God…..” Colo. says we are complete in Him…Eph 1 we have been blessed with “””all””” spiritual blessings… 2 Corinthians 3:5
    5 Not that we are sufficient of ourselves to think of anything as being from ourselves, but our sufficiency is from God,

    2 Corinthians 9:8
    8 And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you, always having all sufficiency in all things, may have abundance for every good work.

    As I look by faith at his promises and esteem Him and His Work sufficient I am transformed by the renewing of my mind (empowered by the spirit of course)Rom.12

    If I believe him not then I am as the scriptures say I am calling him a liar. “He that believes not God calls Him a liar”

    My struggle is not in non-sufficiency but in the choice not to reckon the work complete and his love adequate and his high priestly work “ makes intercession daily for the saints…at the right hand of God” ample to affect the change.

    The change take place by what I focus on.

    2 Corinthians 3:17-18 (NKJV)
    17 Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.
    18 But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.

    We are being changed by the Spirit of Christ from one level of Glory to the next level of Glory as we behold by simple faith His glory. We will make total transformation only when we see him at his return.

    1 John 3:2-3 (NKJV)
    2 Beloved, now we are children of God; and it has not yet been revealed what we shall be, but we know that when He is revealed, we shall be like Him, for we shall see Him as He is.
    3 And everyone who has this hope in Him purifies himself, just as He is pure.

    Hope is forecasting by faith his promises in the future. As we look at his embrace and acceptance and completeness that will be real at his return it says that we are purified. WOW!!! Focus by faith, Reckon Him as supreme in love and grace and mercy and you will see transformation in a steady steam.

    So I agree and I will magnify him to the heavens and I have not a worry that I may have overstated his goodness and grace. If we only knew 1% of his love and his acceptance of us we would have total peace and security. He is sufficent and so are you through him.

    Thanks for letting me share

    Keith

Leave a Reply

