Faith Musing

No you did not imagine 3 posts just disappearing……….I deleted them! Partly because I am trying to evaluate what I write more and not to leave myself open to criticism by sharing to much of myself online. Not that I fear Man but I want to hold myself to a higher standard and not complain about my life so much………and some of what I had written could have been perceived as complaining……….not that I don’t trust those of you I communicate with…….that is not it but most of you know that I do have a few critics that like to post comments on my site and most of it has been quite brutal. So I really just want to be careful not to allow myself to cause other’s to stumble in their faith………1 Cor 8:9 says something that has been on my heart…”Be careful, however, that the excercise of your freedom does not become a stumbling block to those who have weak consciences”. I am not judging anyone else’s sites so no worries…I am just doing what I feel that God is asking of me. So that being said…….Sarah and I were talking about faith tonight…..yeah…….we got together again…….how fun! So this is something I have been thinking about in my studies about faith……Faith is not simply the definition listed in Heb 11:1 “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for, and certain of what we do not see!” I think it goes much deeper than that……….(see the post on Feb 8th). Remember Abraham asking God to save Sodom & Gomora? God heard his request because, here it comes, “HE ASKED”. I don’t know about anyone else out there but often I stay in a bad situation(for example my job) or assume that God wants me in a certain situation to learn something so I don’t bother asking for something different and then faith would come into play in being ok with His answer to my request. But what if….I never asked…..He could never intervene because I didn’t have enough faith to ask! In Hebrews 11 there is a list of men and women who are known as people of faith! Not because of what they believed…….but because of what they asked God for and how they responded to His answer! James 4:2 says it best “You do not have, because you do not ask God”. Then there is the flip side to all of this…..we ask God for stuff with the wrong motives, like 2 year olds who want their own way “give me, help me, do this for me” and He being a loving Father cannot answer us…James 4:3 goes on to say…”When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.” So I guess my desire is always to search my heart before I ask God for something and look at my motives……but not be afraid or complaceant to ask God for things that can make a difference in our families, or other families lives. Where are you in your journey?
Blessings to all my blogger friends!

4 thoughts on “Faith Musing

  1. I agree with your statement that”…..we ask God for stuff with the wrong motives, like 2 year olds who want their own way “give me, help me, do this for me” and He being a loving Father cannot answer us.” I’ve noticed this alot lately. I fall victim to this myself.
    I’ve been trying to become more positive. I don’t share personal problems or anything too serious online. Those things I choose to discuss with those closest to me. I recently shared my battle with depression on my blog and I had to think long and hard about that, but in the end it was something I dealt with in the past and it is a part of who I have become so it wasn’t a big deal to share.
    I don’t really care about what people think about my blog. It is a reflection of who I am, but not 100% of me. I am honest, but guarded at the same time.
    Thanks for sharing!!

  2. Faith…hmmm. I know that I don’t have enough faith alot of the times. I need to remember the times when I asked in faith and I was given what I asked for. Yes, I admit, there are ALOT of times that I have asked for things from God without praying about it first, without thinking “hey, is this for me, for my own selfish reasons, or will it cause me to grow and be more connected to God”. I’ve recieved my answers loud and clear. Not surprising that when its something for own selfish desires, the answer comes back in a loud deafening “NO”. God has taught me that I need to have faith that can move mountains. I know that if I do….He IS faithful, more faithful than I can ever imagine.

    Now did that make any sense at all?

  3. Very wise choice. God wants us to take things directly to him. Thanks for reminding me of who my source is.

    Also, I believe that there is a time for everything under heaven. A time to speak, a time to listen etc. If God calls you in this direction, I bless you in it. But if you ever need to share, that is okay to. Do not allow people to dictate what is ” right ” and what is ” wrong” because God is the only judge of that.

    Many blessings!

  4. i agree with all of those above me…and i think to each their own! some people find a blog a fun place to just post funny things & have fun with…while others use a blog to let out their deepest thoughts & sometimes darkest secrets. and i don’t think any of those are wrong. i think it’s a personal choice. and this is yours…and that’s great! you only want to post what YOU are going to be comfortable with. also, i feel bad that some people have been critical of you & what you have written. i’m sorry about that.
    as for where i am in my journey…i need to look UP alot more! and i need to actually spend time with God – something that is not regular. i have faith in Him – stronger than ever…but i’m not living WITH Him like he would ask me too…it’s a constant journey…
    that’s for making me think & for being a constant encourager.

Leave a Reply

