Broken and Spilled out


The story is of Jesus at supper with some high officials………a woman suddenly came into the room……….She was a well known prostitute. She began to wash his feet with her tears…….Just amazed that Jesus would allow her the privilege of bowing at his feet……..After she washed his feet she poured out an extremely expensive bottle of perfume on his feet. Historians believe that that particular bottle of perfume was worth about 1 year’s wage in that day and time………….After she was finished the officials were outraged that he would let a woman like this touch him ….. “Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—for she loved much. But he who has been forgiven little loves little.” (for the full story go to Luke 7:36-50.)
I have been thinking on this story this week after reading the book “Extravagant Worship” by Darlene Zscheck(awesome book by the way)…………This woman was known through history as an extravagant worshiper of Jesus! Think about the definition of extravagant for a moment………Look it up in the dictionary! This is what I found………
“Given to lavish or imprudent expenditure, Exceeding reasonable bounds, Extremely abundant; profuse, Unreasonably high; exorbitant, Straying beyond limits or bounds.”
What if all of us approached our faith like that? No more mediocre Christianity for me…..Extravagance is where I want to go.
This woman gave everything she had to Jesus……..she literally did……..I want to meet her someday when I get to heaven. I would like to talk to her and the woman at the well (John 4-7-28)……these women were given incredible second chances from Jesus in a day and time when that was not something that happened when you were labeled a prostitute or a woman with many husbands……….I would really like to know what happened after their encounter with Jesus………….did their lives change? How did they feel? What did they do with their second chance? I love these stories…….Jesus saw these woman in a way no other person bothered seeing them…………He loved them where they were, no questions asked! That’s grace for you!

One thought on “Broken and Spilled out

Leave a Reply

