A sad moment in time

Today a friend of mine died! He was a great Man of God, he was a Pastor, he was an awesome person and yet he still died of cancer. Makes me think that I am not doing enough for the cause of Christ! I complain to much and none of it matters! I keep thinking of Kelly’s funeral (my cousin who was electricuted in Bolivia 4 years ago) he was only 18. His time on earth was so short and yet his funeral was attended by thousands both in Bolivia and here in Saskatoon. Someone said at his funeral “God had tasks for him to complete and he finished them, he ran his race and completed it in record time and he will never suffer with earthly problems ever again.” I just keep wondering why I am so slow in” getting it”. Nothing that we do here on earth counts unless we do it for Christ! Some of us just take longer to figure it out and I guess I am one of them. I doubt that my life has had the impact that Dwayne or Gerry or Kelly had and it makes me wonder how I can change things.
Needless to say I am very sad today, even though we have not been close in recent years, I know what a great guy he was and I know he will be missed by many.
I called in to work today and I’m not going in cause my tears just won’t stop, its stupid I know and I don’t know why they won’t stop. I guess I just can’t believe he’s gone………..I am so glad that I have the assurance that this is not the end. We will meet again someday! How do people do it when they don’t believe in God, or in heaven for that matter? That would be so much sadder……..!

2 thoughts on “A sad moment in time

  1. I didn’t know that you had been friends with Dwayne. I’m sorry for your loss as well. I never knew him personally, but had met him and talked a bit with him during their time at West Portal.Through his blog I felt closer to him. I actually cried too, you just can’t not cry in circumstances like this. I know that there are thousands of people around the world that will be sharing in our tears. Take it easy tonight.
    You can stop on by anytime you’d like, I’d love it!!
    Take care.

  2. This is totally off topic from what we’ve talked about today but did you used to work at Central Haven? My mom was checking out my blog and went to your blog from there and saw your picture and thought that she recognized you from somewhere and thinks that you used to work at CH. She used to work there too, her name is Florence and my sister did too, her name is Holly (Terry’s wife). I worked there for two months in the summer as well. Just thought I’d ask. Hope you’re doing alright.

Leave a Reply

